Stock Mac's come with 2x256 or 1x 512?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by joshwest, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #1
    I was about to do a upgrade on my Ram but i was curious if it came with a single 512 or two 256's?
     
  2. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #2
    I believe its 1x512 MB.

    Could be wrong though.

    Yeah, its 1 DIMM. :D
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Ummm.. If you have the machine in front of you go to Apple System Profiler (in your Applications: Utilities folder, or under "More information" when you choose About this Macintosh from the Apple menu) The Memory section will tell you what you have in each socket.

    If it is a new Mac you are looking at, then go to the Apple Store online and Configure the model you want, look at the memory to see how the stock configuration is set up.
    Most Macs have a single 512, but Powerbook G4 12" have 256 built in and a 256 SODIMM in the single socket.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #4
    iBook 1,42 has 512 on board + 1 empty slot... so you can add 256/512/1024 to it

    older iBooks had 128 or 256 on board + 1 slot for expansion (according to apple 512 in the 128 type 1024 in the 256 one...)

    the iMac has 2 slots... standard its filled with 1x512 (at least the ones they sell now...) to be sure: open it and look ;-)

    Mac mini... 1 slot... but thats a know fact :D
     
  5. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #5
    The iMac and iBook in your sigs should have 1 free slot each. :)
     
  6. joshwest thread starter macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #6
    Thanks

    Thanks guys, was curious about the ram, going to throw a gig in each so ill have a gig and half in each machine, going to be using ibook for live garage band recording so i think that will help out a ton
     

Share This Page