Strange... 512 MB chips in Powermac G3?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by princealfie, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #1
    I found out someone claimed that:

    "I just confirmed the 512MB chips in Blue and White G3's do work, I had that I tried it popped up as 1GB 512MB PC100 in the system profiler.. This was in a revision 2"

    I didn't realize that 512MB chips worked in the B and W G3. I thought that the max was only 256 per slot?

    Or perhaps I'm wrong completely?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #2
    Hmm... found another statement:

    "09-05-2006, 08:59 AM
    i would be interested in one of the laptop/powerbook 256mb simms. also yes the 512mb simms do work in a g3 powermac and show up as a 256. im using one right now in a powermac g3 blue./white"

    Wow, talk about some conflict of experiences here...
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #3
    They probably do work, but a G3 B&W is limited to 1 GB max. If you put a 512MB dimm in there it would probably recognise it as a 256Mb dimm.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #4
    Really? This isn't the same situation as the old Sawtooth G4s? It was my understanding at that time that my Sawtooth would only recognize 1.5 gigs of RAM, but I got mine up to 2 before I sold it. I believe it was an OS 9 limitation and OS X got rid of that. Couldn't it be the same for the B/W G3?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #5
    I am going to buy 1 stick of 512 MB RAM just to see what happens to my B/W G3 and report back.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #6
    512mb chips WILL "work" in rev 2 B&W's, but will only be recognized as a 256mb. Been there, done that!

    As for the 1.5GB limitation, that was due to OS 9, NOT the Sawtooth or other machine. Any ST or later machine with 4 ram slots, running OS X, can take & use a full 2GB....512mb x 4!

    B&W's are limited by the onboard memory controller to 256mb x 4 = 1GB period, regardless of what size chips you install..........
     

Share This Page