strange Entourage/Exchange problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Stevp1, Jun 9, 2004.

  1. Stevp1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    #1
    I'm attempting to get my company to set me up with remote access to my mail from my PB. They've told me that Entourage won't work completely. The specific issue is, it'll give me access to send and receive mail internal to my company, but not send to outside addresses. I have verified this. When I try to reply to an outside address, Entourage gives me an error, "relaying is prohibited".

    Any ideas why this is? As usual, the PC centric MIS guys aren't putting much effort into this.

    Thanks all.
     
  2. bitfactory macrumors 6502

    bitfactory

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #2
    Microsoft "didn't put much effort" into creating Entourage, either.

    it doesn't exactly work with Exchange server, if that's what you are trying to do. you'll have more luck with Apple's "Mail" - which is scary.

    good luck.
     
  3. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    True. Mail in Panther will work fine with Exchange.
     
  4. dswoodley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #4
    I have a similar problem with my University. I made a work around by creating a second account in Entourage for an email address not on the Exchange server. Then, depending if the mail is going internally or externally, I choose which email server I am going to route it through.
     
  5. Stevp1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    #5
    thanks for the quick replies, all. It looks like I'm going to go with Outlook 2001 for Mac for now (and do some more experimenting on my own later!)

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Stevp1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    #6
    just tried mail. Didn't think about that one. Still getting the same error. I'm sure it's the way my company sets up the exchange server. Probably because we don't have OWA.
     

Share This Page