Strange iMac wireless problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Everblue, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. Everblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I just got my iMac, it is very nice and everything except for one thing - my iMac sits 2 metres away from my wireless adsl router and the signal level is around 6-7 bars out of 15 under 'internet connect'.

    I thought this is very strange so I brought my iBook and placed it right next to the iMAC and it gets full strength.

    What's going on?

    Thanks
     
  2. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
    This isn't really a "problem"...

    My wireless router is on the other side of the house and when I'm far away from it some spots have full signal, but if I move, even very little, it drops to almost nothing. Routers do not by any means give out an even signal in any direction. Maybe experiment and see if it gets a different signal further away from the router.
     
  3. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #3
    i agree, this isn't really a problem.

    if it's only 2 meters away, move the router closer to the iMac or plug the iMac directly into the router (if you have that option).
     
  4. Everblue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #4
    I think there IS a problem. And it probably lies with OSX's wifi software.

    Let me explain:

    1. In OSX I get 6-8 bars of wifi strenght

    2. On the same machine (without moving it whatsoever), using Windows XP via Bootcamp: FULL STRENGHT!!!

    How can one explain this?
     
  5. Everblue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
  6. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #6
    If you have one of the new Core2Duo iMacs - they have a problem. They are fitted with a Broadcom 802.11n compliant chipset. Most people with this chipset report poor signal strength and poor network thoughput.
    I expect that a future Airport Update will improve things.
    C.
     
  7. Everblue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #7
    Yup thats the one I have. What is strange is that under Windows, it works fine - so I guess the problem is a software one (which is good cos it can be fixed).
     

Share This Page