Strange text problem when Command+Tab

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by discoforce, Mar 30, 2006.

  1. discoforce macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #1
    Okay this just started a few days ago, but it's freaking me out.

    When I access the application switcher (Command+Tab), the names of the applications below the icons no longer fit in their little ovals. They fall about 1/2 in 1/2 out of the ovals, and as I scroll through the applications bits of text from previously selected apps remains on the screen.

    No luck taking a screen pic because I need the command key for both (unless someone knows another way?).

    I've repaired permissions, run maintenance scripts, checked SMART status, and optimized my system. Running Tiger 10.4.5.

    So how worried should I be? :confused:
     
  2. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #2
    I don't know what the problem is or how to fix it, but you should be able to take a screen shot if you open the Grab application itself (it lives in the Utilities folder) and use either "Capture Screen" or "Capture Timed Screen" from the menu, rather than using keyboard shortcuts.
     
  3. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #3
    Thanks so much DCV, that did it! (Though I've been trying to attach this file many times and it wouldn't take...)

    Okay, so this is what my application switcher (command+tab) looks like. You can see that in the pic I'm highlighting the Dictionary, but other apps that I've already scrolled through have varying amounts of text remaining, each at varying degrees of being out-of-alingment.

    Has anyone else run into this problem? Is it foreshadowing terrible things to come for my poor powerbook?

    The only thing I've changed recently (besides regular updates) is installing the UNO GUI to my computer. However this problem hasn't occurred on an older iMac that I did the same.

    Suggestions on fixes welcome, and thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    I would still consider this the main suspect...

    Maybe try to uninstall and see if that solves it...? :)

    If not, you could download TinkerTool and see if some of the fonts have been set way off (and maybe set them back to default):
     

    Attached Files:

  5. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #5
    Thanks Mitthrawnuruodo. Yes, that was the obvious culprit (and perhaps I should have tried that before posting :rolleyes: ), but it didn't help. No go with resetting the fonts through TinkerTool either.

    Has anyone experienced this before? Keep those good ideas coming!
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I don't know what exactly TinkerTool does, but have you checked FontBook (or your font app of choice) to see if anything is disabled?
     
  7. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    Seems like it has to be a font issue. I once deleted a system font, and all of my menu's were messed up until I reinstalled it.
     
  8. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #8
    Hmm... I didn't know I was supposed to have chosen a font app. :)

    Never used Font Book, but I found a bunch of duplicate fonts (which I "Resolved" ???). I also found that several fonts were turned off for User, but not Computer. I turned them all on, restarted, checked again and they appeared to be off again. I've turned them on again, but the problem persists.

    I agree with lazyboy and mad jew, that this seems like a font issue. Any other font cleaning ideas?
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Well, open up a fresh new user account in System Preferences and tell us if the problem's there too.

    Is this the only issue you're having at the moment. I would've thought a typical font issue would be more prominent than just COMMAND-TAB issues.
     
  10. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #10
    Thanks for the persistence, but my new user account (Skippy) has the same problem. Skippy doesn't appear to have any "User" fonts in the Font Book, but all the Computer ones are there and on.

    As far as I can tell this is the only place things look out-of-whack. Strange huh? Sorry to be so uncooperative :eek:
     
  11. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #11
    Did you completely remove the GUI changing application and all files associated with it?

    If the problem exists on all users, that's very strange. It has to be a problem with fonts somewhere.

    However, you said you've only noticed the problem when in cmd+tab. hmmmmmmmmmmm
     
  12. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    I don't think you should be worried, I mean, it's a little glitch and if it's not causing any real harm, just let it go.

    Maybe it's just only fixable with a reinstall of the OS? Even though that is the LAST you try to fix something in OS X, that may be the only solution.
     
  13. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #13
    I'm fine with that, just wanted to see if anyone had any horror stories that began with, "Oh yeah I had that problem with command-tab, and then the smoke started coming out of the superdrive..."

    In that case it'll be my own unique little quirk, and I'll mock those who don't have it! In other words, I'd like to avoid the reinstall too. ;)
     
  14. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #14
    Well, I ran the "uninstall" option, but I didn't follow up on it manually. Next chance I get I'll take a closer look at what UNO installs, and see if anyone using it has experienced similar problems. However, if that's all it changes, it's worth it. I love my UNO :D

    Thanks everyone!!!
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    I couldn't bear to stop using UNO. It hasn't broken anything on my iMac G5, iBook G4 and the countless eMacs at work. I don't think it's at fault here but I could well be wrong. :cool:

    The more I think about it, the less I think it's a font problem, simply because it's so specific and it occurs even when all system fonts are running. I still wouldn't be too worried about it at this stage, but I'd keep an eye on things. The good thing about most issues like these is that they don't generally result in data loss. :)
     
  16. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #16
    I think that cmd-tab bar is connected to the Dock, so maybe getting rid of the dock preference file(s) will help?

    Move/rename/delete ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dock.plist and maybe /Library/Preferences/com.apple.dockfixup.plist and log out and back in (or restart Dock by typing 'killall Dock' in Terminal). And see if that helps...
     
  17. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #17
    Cool thought, I'll try that when I get home from work. Consider the dock killed. :p
     
  18. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #18
    Killed the dock and no change, but nice detective work Mittrawnuruodo, it was a dock-related problem!

    How silly that I forgot I had installed Transparent Dock fairly recently. After returning to my original dock setting (thank goodness it suggested I back up the Dock.app before mucking with it), my application switcher has returned to its correct alignment!

    And I get to keep UNO; I'm with you Mad Jew! (strange sort of rhyme...)

    Thanks everyone you did it! Mystery solved! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #19
    Glad it worked out... :)

    I highly recommend ClearDock over TransparentDock, any day. Never had any problems with ClearDock, but TD is one of the hacks that causes the most problems (especially just after a OS update, that and Saft).
     
  20. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #20
    I think I'll just leave my dock alone now, but thanks for the recommendation and the warnings. I was thinking about trying Saft next, but maybe I should just get back to work. ;)

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page