stressing out over the purchase of mini.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by krappamc, Feb 2, 2005.

1. krappamc macrumors member

Jan 22, 2005
    i bought mac mini with apple keyboard and mouse (looked so pretty and mini being my first mac, i had to try them =p) and total was about $590 with edu discount. it's just an 1.25 standard one.
    however, i just found out that my school is selling the old version of powerbooks (well, two days ago, it was new) for pretty cheap price.
    i wanted to get the 12" powerbook for 1099 usd which seems like a decent price..
    should i return my mini (they said they will give full refund if i purchase pb) and get the 12" powerbook instead??? what should i do???

p.s. pb can connect to lcd monitor or tv, right? (sorry, i'm a newb)
  2. Lacero macrumors 604

Jan 20, 2005
    If it were for school, I'd opt for the powerbook anyday. Something about working on a laptop in a library that I always was intrigued by.
  3. gost8go macrumors member

Dec 2, 2004
    powerbooks rock! nothing wrong with the mini but if you can use a laptop, apple's are the best deal out there.
  4. TheSith macrumors regular

Nov 17, 2004
    Hi krappamc,

I would opt for the Powerbook. They are around 1.33GHZ, is that the model you are talking about? I'd go for that definitely. Grab some ram and you'll be smooth sailing.

Considering the specifications in this case, it would be best to get the Powerbook. If you are to get a desktop, I would wait to get one that is powerful - I would not get the mini myself.. because, despite price differences, I'd rather have the portable laptop that is the same, if not faster, processor speed.

I know there may be some differences on either end and I'm not being 100% completely accurate with technical specifications... but I'd go for the powerbook.

ANd yes, your powerbook can connect to the LCD monitor.