strong clear advice dearly needed... intel/windows/macbook today...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by whyrichard, Mar 10, 2006.

1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

Hello all, today i really need your help...

i've been reading all the threads about the ability to run windows, specifically autocad and rhino windows programs, on an intel mac, such as the macbook pro, but i need straight answers real fast....

... i'm an architecture grad student and don't have too much time to tinker.

my ibook bit the dust. i'm left with only a workstation pc. i need a laptop. i always need a mac. what do i do?

my question is... right now, today, if i get a macbook pro, is there some method of using windows programs (such as autocad and rhino) on them at near full speed? (vpc was miderable on g4's)

ANY method... so far, i understand the most reliable solution is to boot into linux and from there into windows. .... can some moderate level tinkerer pull this off without days of misery? the only downfall is having to reboot, correct?

please you brilliant experienced empathetic geniuses out there.... give me your fortune cookie....

r.

2. m-dogg macrumors 65816

m-dogg

Sorry, but no, not at this time. Especially if you don't have time to tinker.

3. ieani macrumors 6502a

ieani

A G5 imac is probably your cheapest mac solution. But in this situation you might just have to breakdown and buy a window$ lappy.

4. danny_w macrumors 601

whyrichard,
    Currently it appears that the Linux/VMWare/Windows solution that you mentioned is the only possible way to run Windows at anywhere near native speed on the MBP. While it should work, it is a complicated setup that requires you to have a copy of Linux (free), VMWare (not free), and Windows (also not free). This would also necessitate rebooting to get into OS X. It does not sound like this is a viable solution for you. A cheap Windows laptop would probably be better than this.

5. jamesi macrumors 6502a

jamesi