Stuck In The Middle Of The Boot Camp Installation!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by crapple33, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. crapple33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    #1
    This is a really strange problem, I think. Here's what happened: I had an ISO of Windows XP SP 2 burned onto a CD. It wasn't actually a boot disk; it literally was a CD with the ISO burned on it as a file. So I was in the middle of installing Boot Camp and I had the ISO mounted, and I stupidly went ahead with the part where the computer restarts to install Windows. Of course, when it restarted, the ISO un-mounted itself. So now I'm stuck in the middle of the Boot Camp installation. My Macbook Pro has a black, DOS-esque screen with white type at the top that says something along the lines of "No boot disk available. Insert a boot disk and press any key." I re-burned the ISO I had as an actual boot CD, but the Macbook Pro still didn't recognize it. Am I just burning something incorrectly here, or am I actually stuck?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    You need a full, retail copy of Windows XP Pro or Home with Service Pack 2. If you haven't got that then you're doing it wrong and it won't work.
     
  3. findnemo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #3
    I have the same problem, how do I reset and get out of this screen?
     
  4. findnemo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #4
    Nvm, held down option button and restarted and it worked....phew my first mac and I allmost killed it. Guess I'll go buy a retail copy of xp lol.
     
  5. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #5
    Do ppl not follow instructions, there are so many threads like this and there are also VERY CLEAR instructions on Apple's website stating you MUST use a retail copy of xp!!!
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    And you wonder why Boot Camp is only an unsupported Beta. Imagine how much it would cost Apple if they had to field all these questions...

    Anyhow, if you know what you are doing, you can install from media other than a retail copy with SP2. There are plenty of success stories.

    B
     
  7. findnemo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #7
    Got it to work now......its like buying two laptops for the price of one. Also the "Must use a retail version" instructions is only an option. I won't say how I know :).

    Ps- You don't have to go on bashing about not reading instructions.....this was just me being new to the Mac world and a bad burn.
     

Share This Page