Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RandyJS

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 17, 2005
I am a student in my Junior year of study in an undergrad program. I was holding off on purchasing my new Macbook Pro until the core 2 duo units came out. I do lots of photo/video/multimedia editing as well as hardcore multitasking. With that said, the new pro's were released on my birthday (october 24) but I have been reluctant to purchase one yet.

My semester is actually coming to an end now, and will start back again in LATE January. With that said, do you think I should again hold out another 1-4 months in hopes of a MAJOR update to the line? I would be buying the 17" macbook pro, so it will be pretty costly, and if there were going to be MORE updates in the near future, I would consider putting off my purchase.

More importantly, I feel that if I purchase now, I may be out on a redesign (which is WAY overdue) in the near future (possibly carbon fiber?). Presuming that I use my University discount for the laptop (or my apple developer discount) I will be paying approx $2300 for the Macbook Pro 17". Do you think if Apple were to release new pro's that I would be out alot of money if I were to sell this one outright and repurchase another one using my edu discount?

I was hoping for a revise/refresh of the macbook pro with the last update, but that did not happen. I put off purchasing one this long until now, and would hope that someone here may be able to help me make the right decision.

I would appreciate any input, whether it be buying decisions, upcoming product "rumors" or speculations. If I would purchase, it would be this week.

Thanks!

Randy

cardiac dave

macrumors regular
Jun 23, 2005
iToronto