Student Discount q's

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Neo Mike, Jul 29, 2005.

1. Neo Mike macrumors newbie

Hey Guys!
    I'm a student, and recently got my Powerbook and iPod in the mail.

The student discount says I need to mail in the upc code from each (the powerbook and the iPod), but i'm unsure which 2 to send in.

Do I send in the ones from the actual boxes, or the ones from the outer brown packaging material? I have 4 upc codes sitting here. Which did you guys send in?

Thanks!

2. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

Make copies of your UPC for your records and send the ones from the box of the iPod and PB. The UPC should have the serial number of the items and the PB one should have a list of your MAC Address. Dont sent the ones on the brown shipping boxes.

3. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

Apple requires the actual UPC Code from the box that the PowerBook and iPod shipped. You will need to cut through the box. Apple won't accept it if you just use the paper layer. They want the paper and cardboard together.

Congratulations on your purchase. They will perform well for college.

4. Neo Mike thread starter macrumors newbie

Next question - I ordered online, and my email is the only "receipt" I got. I guess that will suffice?

5. KindaSlowJohnny macrumors newbie

Does anyone know why Apple requires people to cut the box? Why can't the paper be enough?

6. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

Yes, just as mentioned above be sure to make a copy of the UPC codes and the message for your own records. Good luck. ;)

KindaSlowJohnny, I will admit that I hate to destroy the box in that way. Apple is just trying to prevent fraud.

7. Mood macrumors regular

Mood

if you need the upc from the apple laptop box, what if you need to do it for the printer as well?

8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

A quick scan and a tweak in Photoshop may be one reason...