Student laptop help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by dwd3885, Dec 17, 2004.

1. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

Dec 10, 2004
    I'm a student looking at either an iBook or PowerBook to be my first laptop and first mac purchase ever. I want to spend around 1100, but am thinking about saving a bit more to get a PowerBook. Though I've heard the 12-inch PB is not that much better than the 12-inch iBook, what about the 15-inch PB? That's probably my ideal laptop, though it costs more. I'm just wondering if it's worth waiting a little while longer to see if the price goes down or something else is added. I want it in time for this coming Winter Semester, which begins end of January, but I might hold out until March as it is my birthday and will be getting more money to add on the christmas money and other cash i have. I know it sounds like another PB vs iBook thread, sorry if it is. I want this laptop for me to take notes, school work, etc, but I'm also taking this Introduction to Digital Media this semester and am going to probably be wanting to get a certificate in Digital Media (which is why I chose Mac over pc to begin with, though I have a gaming pc at home). Thanks for your all's help.
  2. dotnina macrumors 6502a

Aug 19, 2004
    If you have to get a PB in January, can you wait until January 11? Some products are expected to be announced that day at Macworld San Fransisco, and it’s possible (though not likely) that a Powerbook will be among those products.

The longer you wait, the more likely you’ll see a PB revision. The PB already seems a little overdue, if you look at the normal revision cycle in the Buyers Guide.

I recommend the 15", just because I have one. I'd think that graphics work would would require lots of tool palletes all over your screen, so you might appreciate the extra screen space. When you do get a Powerbook (or iBook), remember to use your student discount if you buy directly from Apple. :)