Studying around the world

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ruutiveijari, Jan 17, 2007.

1. ruutiveijari macrumors regular

Dec 11, 2005
    What is studying like where you live? Is there tuitions in your school and do you know people that haven't been able to study because of money? What's your basic day like? Do you work while studying? I'm curious because all I know about the studying habits of people around the world is thru movies.

Studying in Finland is a blessing. There's no tuitions and the government pays you student support about 600 dollars per month. Also you can get a student loan for a very low interest that is backed up by the government and student housing cheaply.
    I'm studying law in Helsinki University and usually it's eight ours of lectures every day (not mandatory, the exams are) and some presentations and group exercises. It takes 280 study points to become a lawyer here and usually getting just two study points means memorizing about 1000 pages of law text.
  2. ironjaw macrumors 6502

May 23, 2006
    Cold Copenhagen
    I'm from Copenhagen, Denmark, and I left to study law in the UK in Wolverhampton for 3 years. I finished last summer 2006. I'm taking a gap year and will study a 2 year Masters at Copenhagen Uni this September. The reason I left was because I got tired and wanted to study abroad.

The tution fee for students starting their degree in 2006- is around £3000 per year. I received government support just like you did as education is free in Scandanavia. It's around (£360 per month) I don't complain :D Student loan is at 4% and you have to start paying a year after your finished with your education.