Stupid iTunes Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Lord Blackadder, Aug 1, 2004.

  1. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #1
    Well, I finally broke down and put Panther on my iMac...WooHoo! very nice...

    ...But up until today I had been using good 'ol SoundJam MP Plus for my music. Now, my piddly 6GB HD can't hold OS X, OS 9 AND all of my music (my games are already casualties to the space crunch. Sigh). However, iTunes wants everything in its Music folder. All of my music currently lives on an external USB HD. With SoundJam, I could add song files to my playlists that were located on other drives which were either connected directly to my computer or over my Appletalk network. Is there a way to tell iTunes to use my music folder on the external HD as its "library"? I need to limp along with this computer for a while, my new G5 is still months away...
     
  2. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    Preferences >> Advanced

    Deselect "Copy files to iTunes Music folder when adding to library"
     
  3. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Or Preferences > Advanced, and change the location of you iTunes music folder to the external drive.

    Either one should solve your problem.
     
  4. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #4
    Man, remind me to not look in the advanced preferences ever again. Not only was I hella confused, but I was afraid I'd screw something up. lol.
     
  5. Lord Blackadder thread starter macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    Thanks guys!

    I wish I had switched to Panther earlier, I'm impressed with the performance on my old workhorse.
     
  6. oldfart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    #6
    Not too sure how it works under "Panther", but in "Jaguar", I moved the iTunes Library Folder to a larger HD. :eek: Then delete the original folder (but don't empty the "Trash" just yet) :) and start iTunes. I think you'll get a dialog box asking where the folder is. Just tell it where you put it and you're done. ;)

    Anybody out there have an idea about this sure can jump in! :D :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page