Stupid Mac Questions

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Regular Joe, May 14, 2003.

  1. Regular Joe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #1
    Is it "OS ten" or "OS ex"?
    Can I use my PC's flat panel screen with a new Mac? (standard PC VGA connector)
    Can I use my Sony DRU500A DVD±RW burner (IDE) with a new Mac?
    Can I use my Western Digital 7200rpm ATA133 180GB HDD (IDE) with a new Mac?
    What current Mac competes with a 3GHz Intel? (I understand MHz speeds don't mean a damn thing)
    What application exists to import and export Microsoft Office formats? (I do not want to use Microsoft Office)
    What application exists for NLE editing of DV material to be rendered to DVD compliant MPEG-2 and burned to set-top compatible disc complete with menu? (Currently using Vegas 4 + DVD)?
    How to I get my 15GB iPod working with the Mac without loosing all my music stored in the little beast?
    I have purchased Adobe Photoshop 7 for the PC. Can I transfer this license to Mac, or must I buy it again?
    Will the Mac interface with a Netgear MR814 802.11b wireless router/switch?
    Is Apple moving from computer hardware to a media provider?
    What do I need to know about moving to the Mac that isn't on Apple's website?
    If I buy a Mac is it law that I put an Apple sticker on my car?
    Will I be the only one in Twin Falls, ID with a Mac?
    Will I regret the move?
     
  2. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #2
    Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    It is "OS Ten"
    Yes you can use your current monitor.
    Not sure about your HD or DVD burner, most likely yes to both.
    I guess a dual 1.42 Ghz PowerMac would be the closest.
    You can use AppleWorks or ThinkFreeOffice.
    Final Cut Pro, Final Cut Express, Avid, Avid Express, Premier, AE...
    Back up your tunes onto a disk of some kind.
    Adobe does not offer cross-platform svcs, ebay the PC version.
    Yes to the NetGear.
    Apple will always be a hardware company first.
    You can throw away your aspirin, they don't tell you that.
    Put the sticker wherever you want. Mine is on my girlfriend.
    You might be the only one.
    You will not regret the move.

    Aside from all that, most of your requests suggest that you'll need a PowerMac.
    Enjoy.
     
  3. Regular Joe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #3
    Re: Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    Thanks for the reply. I like what I am hearing... all good answers.

    Picture?
     
  4. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    lol tj, was it you a long time ago that was whinging about macs in every thread :). That was ages ago but for some reason this just reminded me :)
     
  5. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #5
    Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    i recommend openoffice but that requires X11

    I put mine on my housemate's toshiba satellite laptop - it makes him feel "in the club" as me, my best mate, and his best mate all have iBooks/TiBooks - his is a 4 year old doorstop of a laptop.
     
  6. backspinner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    #6
    When I bought Photoshop Elements it came in a dual license setup: the label on the box was good for the Windows and the OS X version, which were both on the same CD.
     
  7. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #7
    Re: Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    I'm the only person amongst my friends / relations or workmates that I know who has a mac (in fact I've got two ;) )
     
  8. Regular Joe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #8
    More questions.

    More questions:

    How do we install and uninstall software with a Mac? I was told that you simply drag the icon off the the CD drive to the HDD. Then to uninstall, you simply drag the icon to the trash.

    This has me perplexed... on my Windows computer, an application has an install routine that (take Photoshop 7 for example) scatters over 2,000 files across my partition and inserts all kinds of things in the registry. The removal wizard supposedly keeps track of what has changed, but I have found that the uninstaller generally leaves several files and registry data behind; not to mention the shared files and folders.

    Surely, the Mac version must be somewhat similar... I mean, just dragging one icon from the CD? I don't believe it. How would the OS know that you had installed anything?

    Which brings me to my next question. I've viewed the dock demo at the Apple website, and it is very cool. But, how do we launch applications that we do not use very often? Must we search the HDD for the icon, or is there some kind of application menu much like Windows' "start" button?

    Can we transfer email contacts and messages (I use Mozilla 1.4b) from Windows to OSX?

    Thanks for helping me out, folks. Seriously, I have never even touched a Macintosh computer, and no stores which carry Apple products exists anwhere near me. I bought an iPod, started reading around the Apple website, and really like what I see. I definately need a change from the world of Microsoft.
     
  9. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #9
    Re: Re: Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    I know one other guy but i hardly see him, BUT a guy across the street has an imac and a PM (never spoke to him) the students at the end of the block have an imac (seen him carry it inside, like the other guy above).

    When i got my update CD last week my (recently moved in) neighbour came round to give it my dad, he's a mac user as well and he actually wants to borrow my iBook for some speech related work.

    Amazing...i never knew how many people had macs on my street.
     
  10. Regular Joe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #10
    LOL! :D :D :D
    Love that osxsucks.com webpage in your sig.
     
  11. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    Re: More questions.

    To the install/uninstall Q, Yes it is that easy 9 times outta 10. That was one of my first posts on this board too (only been a Mac owner for a bit over a year). I had no clue how to uninstall a proggie and they said, "Trash the icon" I was like, "no way." but that's how it works.

    RE: Apps and Doc

    By default all apps are stored in the Applicatins folder (Mac HDD-->Applications) so it's only two clicks to get to all yer apps. But what I did was put an Applications Folder alias (MS term would be "shortcut") on my doc so I just have to click it to get to all my apps. You could always toss all yer apps on the doc but that could get cluttered.

    A year ago I bought my current mac (a then top of the line dual gig QuickSilver) for video/film editing. Since then I've completely fallen in love w/it and I'm currently saving up money to buy a laptop to replace my trusty Win2k box that I built 2yrs.


    Lethal
     
  12. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #12
    You might not beleive this, but its actually based on 16-year old (circa NeXT) technology! And it works. Basically all of the files that an application needs are included in the application itself, but the icon that you see is actually a folder pretending to be one file, inside are all the folders and files that the app needs, and all usually in a nice order too...

    Just to give you an exmple, Unreal Tournament 2003 is JUST ONE ICON!! The OS knows that you've installed an application because you just copied a file that is executable to the file system, so it just remembers its location. If you trash it for example, then it knows its gone...simple as that. And if the application were to mysteriously vanish, it will just "not open" the file, instead of throwing up multiple errrors like on windows.

    I am a switcher too, and when I found this out for the first time I totaly LOL'd...so damn simple!!! I couldnt beleive MS didnt think of anything like that!!

    But be warned some older apps like Adobe Photoshop, Studio MX and Office X are not yet using this 16-year old technology and still install the stuff in a messy folder...BUT since they are using even older mac technology, you can just trash the FOLDER instead of the icon, and you'll get the same result.

    Yes, unless for some reason Mozilla cant handle exporting and importing its own files...if not, then try to export them as standard files like Vcards and standard e-mail files.

    Easy. Just drag the Applications folder to the dock (the right side) and right-click/(click and hold) then a pop-up menu will display the contents of the folder, just like the start-menu, and you can do this with any folder on your HD as well.

    P.S Its a good Idea not to save files outside of your home folder, its not a problem or anything, but it makes it easier to find things, and of course, other users on the system cant access your files if its protected there...

    G/L:)
     
  13. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #13
    -Regular Joe

    Fukui is right, doing so is good for security and sanity.

    Just a further note on this, the Desktop is a part of your Home folder (User Account) so the same security applies there.
     
  14. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #14
    I always take the "Designed for WindowsXX" stickers right off. I usually toss them out, or put them in public urinals -- gives 'ya something to aim for :D

    I have a pile of the old rainbow logo Apple stickers. I try to keep them 'cause they're getting hard to find.
     
  15. Regular Joe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #15
    Thanks for the good information guys! It's nice to know I can ask questions here without getting noobie'd.

    There is definately a new Mac in my future... The plan is to wait and see what happens at the June WWDC. I sure would love to see the new processor machines. If the wait is too long, then a PowerMac G4 MP1.4 is it. Can't wait forever.

    Is it recommended to go with the AppleCare Protetion plan, or are these machines pretty reliable. TIA!
     
  16. comrade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    orlando, fl
    #16
    Or just click and hold, also does the same thing. (Might be easier if you are using Apple's one buton mouse).
     
  17. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #17
    -Regular Joe

    This might start an argument, but the worst mistake I made in my Apple owning life was not getting Applecare for my 450DP I bought in 2000.

    It's dead now and Applecare would have saved it.

    Apple machines are more reliable than any other computers, but they are not perfect. And I'd hate for you to be the 1 guy out of 50 that get's a delayed lemon and would need Applecare.
     
  18. yzedf macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #18
    Windows up until 3.11 installed a program in a single folder as well. What the GUI shows you is not always what is happening...

    Not all OS X programs behave in this manner. A lot still throw preference files in your home directory, as well as links into your $path etc etc etc.
     
  19. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #19
    Yea, the pre-multitasking protected memory days...at least they didnt have the dreaded registry...which is why its so hard to remove apps from windows....

    I thinks its ok to store the preferences in ones home directory, thats something I would want to keep myself, cause what if I emailed that app to somebody and its got references to my recient files or something, and since apps are shared between users, it doesnt make sense to keep certain things only in the app itself. What a well behaved "bundle" based app should do though, is install the stuff it needs on the first run of the app, for the life of me, except for UNIX only stuff, I dont know why these dumb companies think we still need installers...

    For example, MSN for mac contains 3 applications, all are .app style, like they should be, everything is contained in thier bundle...so why in the world does it need a stupid VISE installer? And, what exactly is it searching for in my / drive for an hour anyway?
     
  20. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #20
    Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    No. you won't be the only one in Twin with a Mac. Move to Boise and there's a lot more of us ;)

    Seriously if your in the Boise area I can show you the ins and outs of a Mac (6 converts , err...switchers, and counting).

    btw- I think there are a few macs in I.F. too!

    good to know there's another person from Idaho here. i was feeling a bit lonely...
     
  21. Regular Joe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Idaho, U.S.A.
    #21
    I may take you up on that offer. I'll shoot a PM your way, if and when I ever make it to Boise.
     
  22. MacFan25 macrumors 68000

    MacFan25

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Re: Stupid Mac Questions

    Well, Apple is trying to make the Mac "a digital media hub". So far, with iPhoto, iMovie, FCP, FCP Express, and iTunes, they are doing a great job of it.

    lol...its not really a law, but I think that Apple would apreciate it if you did. ;)

    Most likely you will not regret the move AT ALL! you will probably be very happy with your Mac! :D
     

Share This Page