Stupid Newbie Question: iPhoto & Req'd Files

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Frank (Atlanta), Nov 2, 2004.

1. Frank (Atlanta) macrumors regular

Disclaimer: I'm completely new to Macs - just got my iMac last week. Not an excuse, but hopefully you won't think the following's completely bone-headed.

I've got an iMac G5 and have 10.3.5 loaded. I loaded a picture CD that came back with traditional print pictures - an Adobe Photoshop Album SE. After loading the CD, I learned all the pictures had been copied onto my hard drive. There were 2-3 roles of pictures on this CD and, since I didn't want them, I deleted them by dragging the files from Finder to Trash. I know - should have been more careful...

Anyway, I'm now concerned I may have deleted required files. I have the following files left in my "Pictures" folder - are these the baseline files required, or did I delete some necessary files (for what it's worth, iPhoto still seems to work...)? The files that remain under the "Pictures" sidebar are as follows (under the Pictures/iPhoto Library subdirectory):

AlbumData.xml
    Albums Folder (w/Pending Rotation & Photo Library docs)
    Dir.data
    iPhoto.db
    Library.iPhoto
    Thumb32.data
    Thumb64.data
    ThumbJPG.data

I ask because I want to make sure I haven't deleted any required application files. In otherwords,

1. Did I delete the wrong files by trying to clear-out my "iPhotos" subdirectory (except for the above files)?

2. I thought (perhaps incorrectly) that OS X keeps system/application files separate from data files (i.e.: the "Pictures" folder is for data and the iPhoto apps files are kept elsewhere) - correct/incorrect?

Embarassed,
    Frank

2. Frank (Atlanta) thread starter macrumors regular

Fix?

I did some digging and would it be correct to "rebuild" the iPhoto Library?
    Specifically, I assume I'd:

1. Delete the old iPhoto Library and then