Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nermal

Original poster
Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
Right, what do I need? I understand that DVD Player can't play them yet (maybe in Leopard), what about VLC? Is there any other software I can use?

If I have to use Windows, am I stuck with Boot Camp or can I use VMware?

As you can tell, I'm kinda new at this sort of stuff :) I can get a drive for $110 but I don't want to waste money if I'm not going to be able to use it!

Frank Palermo

macrumors newbie
Aug 13, 2005
You can't... at least not easily, not yet :-\

As I understand it, the situation with HD DVD (and Blu-Ray) playback on the Mac is this:

1) Tiger's DVD Player actually does have very limited support for HD DVD. It can play HD DVDs authored with DVD Studio Pro 4, but it doesn't support a number of things (the VC-1 video codec, AACS DRM, the UDF 2.5 file system, etc.) that are used on commercial HD DVD titles.

2) Leopard's DVD Player probably will add support for playback of commercial HD DVDs. However, the studios have mandated that you need a video card and monitor that support the HDCP DRM system in order to be allowed to watch the new HD formats at full quality. As far as I know, no current Mac video card or Apple monitor supports HDCP. (I think it will be interesting to see if Apple or a third-party provides HDCP-compliant video cards for "older" Macs, or if the official line will be that "you need to buy a new Mac to watch HD DVD or Blu-Ray").

3) VLC doesn't work. There are various problems with video (even though support for the codecs is theoretically there), but the real stumbling block is that there's no open-source decoder for the new surround sound audio formats (Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, etc.) yet.