Suddenly thinking mini...advice?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by BartoK, Mar 10, 2005.

1. BartoK macrumors newbie

I've been using my trusty Dual USB G3 iBook now for going on 4 years and have been trying to work out getting my next Mac for at least a year now. I have been determined to get an iMac (until a few minutes ago) and have been sort of stuck in a "an update has to come soon" wait. All of a sudden, though, I'm wondering if I might go with a 1.25 Mac mini and a 20" cinema display!

Here's the rationale...

1. I'm a basic user. The most advanced thing I'm looking to do is some light work in iMovie - which I currently can't do on the iBook due to a maxed out hard drive. So, while the iMac G5 will of course zoom past the mini, anything is going to seem like light speed next to my G3 500.

2. I like the idea of investing in a separate display and machine but I'm not ready to go PM right now. Reason being, I think I could get more out of a resale in a couple of years and could probably get into a more frequent upgrade cycle. (Provided that the mini has some staying power!)

3. I probably won't be interested in upgrading to Tiger right away - I was perfectly happy waiting to get Panther after it had been out for a year - so a G5 isn't an absolute need for me right now...but a new Mac is!

Basically, I'm hoping to get away from the feeling that I need the top of the line consumer Mac and trying to get something that will serve me better long-term. Please share your opinions either way. Anyone who agrees is very welcome to say so, but if you were me and would run screaming in the other direction to the iMac, I insist you explain! ;)

Thanks!

2. AlephNull macrumors member

BartoK-

Assuming you are looking for a desktop machine as opposed to something more portable like your iBook, I would recommend the Mac mini.