Suggested backup procedures for clean Tiger install

Discussion in 'macOS' started by feakbeak, Apr 25, 2005.

1. feakbeak macrumors 6502a

feakbeak

First of all, I did search but did not find the specific information I was looking for. After a few very slow searches, I started getting errors with the MR site, so I decided just to post my question(s).

I have the Mac mini specified in my signature. I have pre-ordered Tiger and it has shipped today. I plan on doing a clean install because I always believe that is best when refreshing an OS. Although I have used Macs in the past OS 8.x, 9.x and now X on my mini I am not an expert with OS X. I know Windows like the back of my hand and dabbling with OS X makes me feel like a noob all over again. It's a little unsettling.

I wish to start backing up my data in preparation for my clean install of Tiger. I know the obvious things for backing up all of my data files. I have some more specific questions though and wanted to invite any suggestions you may have based on your own personal OS upgrade experiences.

Is there an easy way in OS X to backup all my user settings? I'm going to go out on a limb here and propose that I might be able to just copy my entire user/home directory off somewhere and copy it back? That would be the intuitive/Apple way of thinking. Could it be that easy, i find it hard to believe.

Would this preserve my OS settings, IMs, email, photos, music, bookmarks, etc? Is it as easy as copying your home directory back, no reconfiguring your OS settings or application settings?

I have been storing all my data under the home directory, not elsewhere on the drive. Which is unusual because that is not at all how I do it in Windows... but OS X naturally encourages one to use it that way - very nice.