Suggestions for computers with tons of RAM...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mmmcheese, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #1
    Ok, I'm looking for a machine in a category I'm not all that familiar with, so I'm looking for some suggestions.

    I'm doing some research where I need some fairly serious quantities of memory. Although my work is computationally intensive, at this point, memory size is even more critical. I'm looking to buy a system with 4GB of RAM, but this is a minimum...I want to be able to upgrade this at a later point when 4GB runs out, and when I have some more funding. I'm hoping for dual processor with an extra socket for a second processor later, but I'm open to other options (even if I can never go above 2 processors total...either 1 dual core, or 2 single core).

    Platform isn't really that important...x86, PPC, Sparc, etc....doesn't matter. At this point I don't even care about OS, since all of the software is written in Java.

    My budget is limited, but (hopefully) not unreasonable....

    Suggest away! :) Thanks.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
  3. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #3
    Been there already...Sun seems to be a complete rip off. I compare a machine, and a similarly equiped machine from IBM...the IBM was about $2300 and the Sun machine was $5600.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  4. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    What's wrong with the Power Mac G5? They support up to 16 GB RAM. I also work with the HP XW9300 dual Opteron workstations at work, nice machines. Or if you don't need 3D why not look at a server? The HP Proliant DL385 dual Opteron can use a huge amount of RAM. If that isn't enough computational power you can check out the DL585 which has support for up to 4 processors.

    It might actually be easier if you tell us your budget.
     
  5. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #5
    I have considered the Power Mac. So far, it's my most affordable option...I'm just trying to consider all options. There's no 3D being used. I don't think I said it had to be a Workstation, a server is fine too.

    Honestly, I don't know my budget...but I've been told "the cheaper, the better."
     
  6. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    If 3D isn't needed a HP Proliant may be your cheapest option. Here's a quick run down:

    DL380G4 - up to Dual Xeon dual core 2.8 GHz, up to 8 GB RAM
    DL385 - up to Dual Opteron 2.8 GHz, up to 16 GB RAM
    DL585 - up to Quad Opteron 2.8 GHz, too much RAM :D

    I work with all of these machines (and other models) daily and I can't fault them. Great machines. Very cheap for what you actually get.
     
  7. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #7
    Any experience with the DL145? That was one I was looking at when I was looking on the HP site the other day. Not quite as expandable, but it looks interesting anyway.
     
  8. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    I've seen 1 once I have not spent much time with them. I just jumped on the Proliant site and it looks like a fine machine. If expandability isn't required that could be perfect for you. I love the Proliant hardware, and software. I also work with other brands but if I was buying for myself I'd go with the Proliant.
     
  9. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #9
    As much as I like the better expandability of the DL3xx, I'm thinking that my supervisor will decide that the lower price of the DL1xx will win out. Plus, I have to propose multiple options.

    When I was pricing stuff out a few days ago, a dual 2.0GHz G5 Power Mac was still slightly cheaper than the DL145 when I put in 4GB of RAM. I was a bit surprised.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  10. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    You are comparing the price of ECC RAM to normal RAM. Just like with Apple you will be better off if you look for certified RAM from another supplier. :)
     
  11. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #11
    I was, in both cases. And yes, I know one has ECC RAM, and one doesn't...but one REQUIRES it. Since this isn't a high availability system, I think non-ECC RAM will be just fine (although I could be wrong).
     

Share This Page