Suggestions for my Intel iMac...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AJ Muni, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    I have the stock 1.83 new intel iMac, and i want to use handbrake to rip some of my dvd's so i can put them onto my ipod. I want some suggestions on which settings i can use for good quality on my ipod for playback, and also test the power of this puppy. Thanks I'll be waiting....
     
  2. AJ Muni thread starter macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #2
    Well I did a test of my own....and heres the screenshot..P.S. This was my first time using handbrake and I used 320x192....but which is the correct size so it can fit onto my video ipod perfectly???
     

    Attached Files:

  3. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #3

    That should work. However, up there in the top right you might want to change from regular MPEG4 to H264. It will take longer to encode, but look a lot better.
     
  4. AJ Muni thread starter macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    The process took 37 minutes for part 1, and another 45 minutes for part 2...is this normal? 1 1/2 hour for ripping a dvd...even on this intel imac???
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    That's reasonable. Are you using version Version 0.7.1-cvs (2005110400)? That's the latest Intel version I'm aware of.

    Note that you're not only ripping the DVD but also converting it to a different format and resizing it, so it'll take a while.
     
  6. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    #6
    Yeah that's pretty normal. If you want to do a few dvds, I suggest using the queue feature--set it up to do a few, and then go to sleep. You just have to rip the .vob files from the dvd to the hd first. It's an extra step, but it's a good way to get a lot of things done while you're not using the computer at night.
     
  7. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #7
    Yes because it's not all about the speed of your machine. I can rip a 2.5 hour movie on windows xp 2.4ghz with 1.5 gig ram in about 1.5 hours. Same for my powerbook.

    Encoding takes a while regardless of your system. The lower your settings the faster it'll be. For me it's rip anywhere from 17 to 50 minutes and then encode anywhere from 30 to 1.25 hours so far. That depends on the movie as well. One 90 min movie took much less time than another. I don't know why, but it did.

    Not to mention your intel mac, the speed specs I don't think are as fast as they reported. That's just a personal opinion. Not that you don't have a great machine, I just don't know if I buy 4-5x faster.
     
  8. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #8
    If you use H.264 the maximum resolution you can use is 320x240. If you use MPEG-4 you can go up to 480x480 but I suggest sticking with 320x240 either way unless you plan on using a video cable to connect it to your TV. The 480x480 resolution will show up better on your TV but it will result in a boxed mode on your iPod. I've only hooked it up to a TV once or twice so I decided to stick with 320x240 for the better picture on my iPod.
     
  9. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #9
    Well the iMacs were never reported to be 4-5x faster. Apple said they were 2-3x faster then the previous generation of iMacs. The new Powerbooks (Macbook Pro) are reported to be 4-5x faster then the G4 Powerbooks they are replacing.
     

Share This Page