Suggestions on Upgrading Beige G3

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by flyhunter, Jan 26, 2004.

1. flyhunter macrumors newbie

I am looking for some help. I know how to use computers pretty well, but have never really had to or wanted to upgrade a computer, so I have very little knowledge on the subject.

I have been asked to update a G3 beige desktop so that is capable of handling new software such as Photoshop, Quark, etc. The computer right now is very basic: Mac OS 8.6, 64 MB RAM, PowerPC G3 266 Mhz, 4 GB Hard Drive. It is basically the stock package that you get with a new computer.

I would like a new hard drive, processor, memory upgrade, system upgrade, cd drive, FireLite Hard Drive, USB connections and a new monitor. The ethernet is the only thing that I think should stay. What are some good resources to help me get this project done? What are some good products, brands and places to buy these items? Which items should have a higher priority to make the whole unit work. Also I would like to keep costs down of course. I figured making my own upgrades would save a lot compared to the price of a new unit.

I was wondering what the difficulty level of this project would be? I have done a little research on the net, but everything I find and read, talks about all the problems upgrading a systems nothing on how easy it was. Is it better to just buy a new computer?

All advice and suggestions are welcome. If there is any other information that you would like to know please let me know.

Thanks for your help.

Flyhunter

2. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

Horrortaxi