Suitcase and Adobe InDesign

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by agentphish, May 17, 2005.

  1. agentphish macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know if Suitcase works with InDesign? I just got adobe CS2 and i am wanting to play around w/ it but the fonts i have active in Suitcase don't seem toshowup in InDesign.

    I hope i dont have to go back to Quark :(
    anyone got Ideas?
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Activate your font/s or set/s.

    Quit InDesign, restart InDesign. Are they there now?
     
  3. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I haven't migrated to CS2, yet (hurry up, June...get here!), but Suitcase works fine in CS1.

    Have you looked at the tab inside Preferences that allows you to have Suitcase auto-activate fonts? This would be the first place to look, I would suppose.

    You shouldn't have to quit the program and start it again. Once you activate the fonts in Suitcase, if everything is working right, they should appear in your font menu inside InDesign.
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4
    I haven't found a single CS1 app to work with Suitcase X1, without having to restart the app in order to get the font to show in the menu.

    Something that Quark 6.5 seems to do OK. :confused:
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    That's odd...I don't know if there's some kind of plug-in that was used on my (work) computer...it was like this before I got here. I'm just glad that I don't have to restart each time! That would drive me to Quark (EEK!!) as well!

    I'll do some snooping and see if there's some kind of plug-in installed or something.
     
  6. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    Blue Velvet, do you have this Preference pane?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #7
    There is an Auto Activation Plug in that should in this folder:

    Applications/Adobe InDesign CS/Plug-ins/Extensis/

    and it's called "SuitcaseAutoActivation.pln"

    That, I assume, would solve the problem.... I guess. :)
     
  8. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8

    Thanks. I'll check this out tomorrow... what about PS & Illustrator, the two I've found to be more problematic?
     
  9. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    One more note...it is available free on their website here

    As for PS and Illustrator, if you're using CS1, it looks like that plug-in download supports those apps as well. I know they work fine on my computer.

    And you're very welcome...I read a lot on these forums and know that you've helped a ton of people, so it's nice to "repay" you in some small way.
     
  10. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #10
    Aww... :eek:
     
  11. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #11
    well im still kinda noplace.
    Applications/Adobe InDesign CS/Plug-ins/Extensis/
    doesnt exist on my machine, but keep in mind im using CS2.
    there is a plugins folder, but no extensis folder inside there.

    I went and used quark to do what i needed to do today, but the damn thing wouldnt export to PDF and of course didnt give any real error message that might explain why all it said was "Could not export to pdf."
    Any ideas on that one? Suitcase seems to be working fine with quark 6.5.
     
  12. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #12

    Quarks built-in export to PDF is rubbish. Far better but also clumsier to print to PostScript using Adobe PDF PPD, then dropping it into Distiller or a watched folder. Of course, I'm also assuming you have Acrobat & Distiller.

    Instructions here. (download)
    http://www.ppa.co.uk/pass4press/download_v4/Q6_postscript.zip
     
  13. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #13
    Personally, I would either just create the folder myself, or just throw the plug-in directly into the plug-ins folder, restart, and see if that works. Extensis has made a plug-in specifically for InDesign CS2, so, I would assume that it would work, once put in the plug-ins folder. Did you try either just placing it in there, or creating a folder called "Extensis," and seeing if that works? I'd hate for you to have to suffer with quark any longer. (;
     

Share This Page