Super Confused iphone 5 mystery

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by newport123, Dec 2, 2012.

?

I think this iPhone is

Poll closed Dec 12, 2012.
  1. Its ATT since it showed att network bars (but i couldnt activate it with att sim)

    23.1%
  2. Its sprint as per the seriel number(Y does it say carrier as att 13.0 then)

    23.1%
  3. As confused as you are

    46.2%
  4. Use it as a iPod Touch

    7.7%
  1. newport123, Dec 2, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #1
    1)purchased iphone from craigslist was told its a verizon version by the seller
    2)popped in sim and it said its not a valid sim. i am thinking this is a sprint phone and i was tricked. Phone does show the bars but says can not be activated due to incompatible sim.
    Phone is still not activated and i can not even mavigate to the home screen tried connecting with itunes etc
    3)call apple and they confirm this is a sprint phone
    4) call up sprint provide seriel number and imei and they say its not a sprint phone and they didnt mention if its stolen or reported stolen. I had asked this in bold in my email to sprint

    So now i have a iphone 5 which i can nto activate . Its locked and lying as a paper weight

    In the mean time i buy a AIR update to new os install itunes 8 etc etc
    i decide to connect the iphone 5 just for fun and boom it says syncing and shows me the home screen. I am happy I do a quick song and dance sequence with 5 yo mama jokes. JK

    Now when i go to general about i am super confused
    Carrier says AT&T 13.0
    Model is MD657LL (This is a sprint model number)
    So which iphone 5 is this Friends ???????
    :apple:

    Model Number is A1429
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502a

    jent

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #2
    Did you pop in an AT&T SIM?

    Verizon and Sprint iPhones can be unlocked internationally but not domestically, meaning the GSM radio in CDMA iPhones can be unlocked for use with any non-American GSM carrier.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #3
    With ATT sim it said not compatible sim etc etc
    but it was showing me bars on the top left
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #4
    My guess AT&T
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Justinf79

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Odd, was it a new phone in a shrink wrapped box, or a used one?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #6
    used got it off craigslist
    when i started it it went through the initial set up process
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Justinf79

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Hmm, I'd maybe try contacting the seller, and see what exactly he/she did to it.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #8
    What does it say for model on the back of the iPhone?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #9
    a1429
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #10
    That number is either for sprint or verizon is a CDMA phone
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #11
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #12
    I am amazed at how people bu phones on Craigslist and do no check to see if the phone is working.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    jent

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #13
    Sprint and Verizon's unlocking policy keep the domestic GSM carriers locked out, so that will not work with any U.S. GSM carrier.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #14
    Please stop posting incorrect information.

    While the Sprint Iphone 5 is locked, the Verizon version is GSM unlocked out of the box for any GSM carrier worldwide, including the USA.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #15
    Verizon phone works with T mobile and smart talk. So much for your knowledge.

    ----------

    To OP, you have a Sprint phone. This is exactly what happens with the sprint iphone 5 when trying to activate AT&T sim. If you had Verizon iphone 5, it would have worked. AT&T gsm network will work with the verizon phone, but you will not get LTE. With Sprint phone, nothing from AT&T will work unless you get Sprint to unlock the phone.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #16
    You definitely have a CDMA phone, it is not an AT&T phone. You need to call Verizon to activate it, you can't just put a SIM card in and expect anything to happen. It wouldn't work with an AT&T SIM because it's locked to a CDMA network (either Sprint or Verizon) which is preventing it from connecting to AT&T.
     

Share This Page