Supercomputing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bloogersnigen, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. bloogersnigen macrumors regular

    bloogersnigen

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Wherever the water flows
    #1
    I have three operating macs on my local network. I mostly use my dual G5 tower and the others are asleep. Is there any way for my G5 to automaticly use the other computer's CPUs when I'm rendering or something. I want this to be automatic (I don't have to do any command line work to activate it everytime) and it should works with many apps. This also should anly kick in whenever I'm using 100% of the CPU and more CPU's would be useful.

    Thanks,
    Ben
     
  2. Felldownthewell macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #2
    That would be cool, and I have no idea how, but I imagine you might be constrained by the bandwith of your network; if you connected each of the computers directly, however, it might work.
     
  3. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #3
    What apps are you using? FCP, Compressor, DVD Studio Pro - have Qmaster to do distributed computing - some of the bigger 3D programs have plugins for this as well (not too sure which ones exactly).
     
  4. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #4
    You need an OS X server to do that... but look at this
     
  5. bloogersnigen thread starter macrumors regular

    bloogersnigen

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Wherever the water flows
    #5
    I use FCE, Photoshop, but I'd like this to work with everything (iTunes song conversion, quicktime encoding, whatever)
     
  6. bloogersnigen thread starter macrumors regular

    bloogersnigen

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Wherever the water flows
    #6
    I've looked at the free Xgrid technology preview but it would only work with apps built for it. Would the real version (the one in OS X Server) work with all of them.

    Thanks for all of your fast responses.

    Ben
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    I am pretty sure a program has to be built to use multiple computers for it to work. I think Final Cut is Xgrid capable and i am pretty sure no adobe product is.
     
  8. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    No known technology can accomplish that. Only applications designed to allow distributed processing can take advantage of it to any reasonable degree (one could probably come up with some hack that moved threads onto other machines, but it would slow down 95% of apps).
     
  9. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #10
    BTW: This makes me want to do an XGrid.

    Xgrid or scooter? Tough call.
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    If by OS X server you mean Xserve, no you do not.
     
  11. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #12

Share This Page