Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wilkie0408

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 28, 2006
I am pretty new to apple and was wondering what I should get in order to have 5.1 surround sound. I have a new macbook pro - I was looking at getting the Klipsch promedia 5.1. Do i need to buy an external sound card and if so, which one should I buy.

Thanks

khisayruou

macrumors 6502a
Aug 21, 2004
stoid said:
Well, Griifin makes a product called the FireWave, but I've never used it, so I can't attest it's quality. Maybe there is something out there cheaper too?

How come everyone advises the firewave when someone asks about surround sounds for the PB/MBP?!?!? The firewave was announced by Griffin more than a year ago and still has NOT been released. Notice the 'pre-order'...well its been there for over a year also (just had to get that off my chest)

To get 5.1 from the klipsch, yes you will need an external sound card. Read here for more info: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/159536/

You could also get speakers that have digital in, such as the high end logitechs.

wilkie0408

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 28, 2006
Thanks for the help. I have a few more questions however.

If I buy the high end logitechs with digital surround surround sound, what would be the advantage? Would I have to buy a better external soundcard? I suppose there is no way to connect my mbp directly to any 5.1 speakers.

Sorry for more questions - Thanks

khisayruou

macrumors 6502a
Aug 21, 2004
Alright, the MBP has a 2.0 analog out and an optical out.
So your options for surround sound is to:

1. Via analog: Get an external sound card that is mac compatible and is capable of 5.1 or higher.