Swapping Bays on MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by theblotted, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    i currently use a Seagate Barracuda 250GB as main OS drive and 160GB as media drive.

    the 250 is a bit thicker, and when it's in Bay 1, it basically touches the front fan assembly, causing the entire MP to resonate.

    so i swap the HD bays around, and put main OS (250) drive into Bay 2, media (160) drive into Bay 3, while leaving Bay 1 & 4 empty.

    was wondering if there are any drawbacks to this. will my MP read or boot slower as a result? does the main OS HAVE TO be in Bay 1?

    (i am planning on switching the 160GB as my main OS, and 250GB as media; but a bit busy before the holiday season... will do it afterwards)
     
  2. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
  3. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    i know they work, cuz i actually got it booting off'f Bay #2...

    but how about performance wise?

    (btw, thanks for the link. your post was my inspiration for adding a SCSI drive into my MP)
     
  4. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #4
    Doesn't make any difference for performace where the disks are. I did the same thing with mine to reduce resonance. Never noticed any performance impact.

    According to this diagram they SATA slots are 4 independant busses
     
  5. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    sweet, exact info i needed.

    thanks!
     

Share This Page