Swapping hard drive in MBP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Killyp, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #1
    Okay, so I basically filled up the hard disk in my MacBook Pro (80 gb), and then removed some stuff so I could carry all my music round with me. I've got about another 100 CDs to import, and I want to make sure I always have at least 10 GB free. 80 GB is NOT ENOUGH I tell you!!!

    So, what's the easiest way of transferring EVERYTHING from the current hard disk to a newer one, and what's the easiest way of gettting a new hard disk in this beast? I'd also like to get a 7200 RPM one, but as far as I'm aware, you can't get 7200 RPM 120 GB laptop hard disks...

    What would you recommend I do?
     
  2. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #2
    You could purchase an external HDD and use that to transfer and store some of your files on. :) Unless you need to have all of those files on your MacBook Pro's internal HDD. :eek:
     
  3. Killyp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #3
    Am I right in thinking that some files will not copy though? What about if I take a disk image? What's the easiest way of doing that?
     
  4. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Use carbon copy cloner, its an excellent free program that will accomplish what you're looking for.
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    My experience is that some files will not copy through. There is another one which just escapes me at the moment... :confused:
     
  6. majorp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    UK !!!
  7. JimmyB248 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #7
    Out of interest, I've just purchased a 120gb HDD and it's coming tomorrow, when I put it in the MBP, there'll be nothing on it, do I just insert the Mac OSX install CD and just follow the install instructions? Anything else I need to do?
     
  8. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #8
    Don't you have to open the casing to replace the hard drive in the Macbook Pro? :confused:

    Yes, you'll have to reformat your computer completely, unless you want to do the disk image. It'd probably be faster (depending on how you transfer) to use the cd rather than transfering it back from your external. That way, instead of transfering the image, your just transferring files, much faster. :)
     
  9. JimmyB248 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #9
    Yeah I've got no problem putting the files back on the disk once I've opened it all up and put it in and everything, I'm comfortable with that. I was just wondering what to do once that's all sorted and I want to actually put something on the hard drive, like OS X. But if the install CD sorts all that then that's my problem sorted. :)
     
  10. ppayne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #10
    Um, help???

    *HOW* does one open and replace the MacBook Pro 15 inch? I cannot find *any* word on how to do this online, perhaps due to the 'iPod Effect' (there are so many pages for the iPod that you can't find useful information for all the noise).
     
  11. ppayne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #11
    Oops, just adding this so I can get notification if someone is kind enough to reply.
     
  12. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  13. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #13
    That didn't work with my lacie 250GB:confused:
     

Share This Page