Swapping sim card between iPhone 5 and S3

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by iosuser, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #1
    I'm with AT&T. Has anyone here tried sharing their nano sim card from the iPhone 5 with the Galaxy S3? I just bought a nano to micro sim adapter. The S3 reads the nano sim, I can make and receive phone calls, but I cannot get data. It shows mobile network state as disconnected.

    Has anyone here tried doing this? Any pointers?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    j.dstasio

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #2
    I used a GS3 for a few days in between selling my iphone 4S and my iPhone 5 pre-order arriving. I had to call up at&t in order to get data working on the GS3.

    I also used the GS3 for a few days after returning my 16gb pre-ordered iPhone 5 and buying a 32gb a few days later. Again I had to contact at&t with the IMEI from the GS3 to get the data working. I think I did it the second time via At&t's online chat. It was no problem either time, just make sure they put you on the correct plan if you have a grandfathered unlimited plan to protect.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #3
    You have to call AT&T every time you move your sim from the iPhone to any smart phones to get data.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #4
    I didn't use an adapter, I just slid my sim card into the tray and positioned it correctly. Cheap adapters can break your phones tray.

    That's not true. I flipped between an S3, Nexus and iPhone without any issues.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #5
    Not sure how you do this, but AT&T has the LTE smartphone plan and the iPhone data plan. One will not work with the other. You'll be able to make calls but you'll get no data. This was very frustrating when I was using my 4S and S2.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #6
    incorrect, just when you put the iPhone 5 Nano sim into the s3 make sure you change the default APN. Unfortunately the iPhone 5 LTE data plan won't let you use wap.cingular, or PTA. However if you make one and call it "phone" you will get data.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #7
    Interesting..

    I bought the S3 first at Bestbuy. They gave me a new LTE micro SIM card and activated it. Then I bought a used 4S. I was able to swap that sim card between the S3 and the 4S, no problem.

    I messed with a new APN setting but still not able to get data. I'll call/chat with ATT now and see what they say. I'll update once I find out.

    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #8
    Name: Doesn’t matter, you can call this whatever you want.
    APN: phone
    Proxy:
    Port:
    Username:
    Password:
    Server:
    MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
    MMS Proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication type:
    APN type: default,mms,supl
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #9
    Just got off chat with AT&T support. The agent claims it should never have worked, using the S3's sim in the 4S, and that I can never change phones just by swapping SIM - I'd have to call each time and they'd have to update the IMEI # each time... Just switched IMEI to the S3, using the iPhone 5's nano SIM card in the S3 now. So if the agent is correct, my iPhone 5 is now out of commission. I'll find out later.

    I should have looked in this thread again before I tell the agent to change it. I was trying to use the wap.cingular APN. Thanks for posting it cheezeit.

     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #10
    Put the sim back in the iPhone 5, it's working fine. Not sure what AT&T really did here when they changed/updated/deleted/added the IMEI.

    The big question now is if I'll get LTE service, when I'm in LTE areas..

     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #11
    psh most agents don't know much. I swap phones every 1-3 days ;)

    Here's another tip. If you're on grandfathered unlimited data (forgot if you mentioned it in the post) stay on an LTE data plan, even if you go to a NON LTE device because your data cap will be 5gb instead of the soft 3
     

Share This Page