Swapping the CD-RW for a SuperDrive in an eMac

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by davy the bunny, May 6, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    #1
    So here's my question. . .

    I currently have an eMac, I think it's from the first edition at 700 Mhz and it has the CD-RW drive. That's my problem, I want to replace the drive. I can get my hands on a Panasonic A05 drive easy enough and I know that this works for PowerMacs. Does anyone here know of anyone who has tried this manuever or have they done it themselves?

    I've opened up my eMac a couple of times so I think I know my way around doing this but does anyone think that it will work?

    And no I don't care about voiding any warranties or AppleCare or anything.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #2
    SuperDrive swap

    Hi, Today I did just the swap your thinking about. I installed a Pioneer P109. If you Google "Replacing an eMac optical drive", the first link will have instructions to do the job. I can play a CD, but can't get iDVD to recognize the superdrive. The instruction refer to "Private Frameworks" to solve this issue. I have been unable to make this work, so far. I'm here to find a solution if possible. Good luck! :)
     
  3. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #4
    Superdrive info

    I tried macsales (one- s) but no luck, however they do have a required patch for Mac application. LOL :cool:
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #5
    Oh, I forgot.

    You will need to trim of about 1/8 th of an inch of the bottom of the drawer front. It lifts off easily. If you don't, the drawer will catch on the door on closing. I used 2 grits of sandpaper. The drive you remove will have been trimmed, so you can see how much is required. :cool:
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #6
    hi, you may also try using Patchburn III to help with iDVD as a friend replaced his with a new DVD drive and it works fine.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I replaced the CD-ROM drive that came in my eMac with an NEC DVD-RW drive, and it works perfectly.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #8
    I installed a Pioneer 109 in my eMac 700 3 weeks ago.Patchburn worked fine, but I couldn't play DVD's. I had to run the Panther CD's to install IDVD. Works fine now.Last week I replaced the orig.HD with a WesternDigital 250Gig. I put it in an ext.FireWire enclosureand ran CCC- works fine. . .
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #9
    I'm thinking that my 700 mhz eMac is too early a model and just doesn't have the required extension for the DVD player. (I looked for it) I can use Toast to successfully for copying although I haven't tried to burn one yet. I have to buy some DVD-Rs I just can't watch pre recorded movies. This may be a fatal flaw with my plan :(
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #10
    Thanks folks, I installed Patchburn3 and DVD player, but no luck so far. I found out yesterday that my son installed a superdrive in his G4 Power Mac and is having the same problem. Funny coincidence, not a funny problem! :confused:
     

Share This Page