Switch from Galaxy Nexus

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sammyootsi, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm currently on my company's Verizon corporate account and use a Samsung Galaxy Nexus. It's a requirement that we have an Android phone to use some software but I'd like to have an iPhone as well. Is it possible to switch the SIM card back and forth between the Galaxy Nexus and the iPhone 5 to be able to operate either as I want? I understand this wasn't possible with CDMA networks but it appears this might work with LTE devices: http://support.verizonwireless.com/information/4gsim.html

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    #2
    You'll probably need a SIM adapter as LTE requires the SIM, but you'll have to reactivate each phone every time you want to swap, no? If I remember CDMA phones correctly...
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #3
    It is possible. You will need a nano sim for the iPhone 5 and then a sim adaptor when you want to switch to an android device.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #4
    Be careful with this. I also own a Galaxy Nexus and I used (or tried at least) a Sim Adapter, but when removing the SIM, the adapter will catch the copper pins and rip them out, rendering the phone useless. Sadly I had purchased mine in the Netherlands and Samsung USA refused to even look at it. Had to send it back to Holland through a friend, and then have it sent back to me. Took about 1.5 months.



     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #5
    You don't have to reactivate anymore. Just swap sims.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    #6
    Oh that's good to know, thanks!
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #8
    Worked great. Just had to buy the SIM adapter and I can switch at will. Highly recommended!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    Perfect, thanks! Can I ask, did you buy a full priced unlocked version or did you use someone's upgrade to get a discounted iphone 5?

    I was thinking of taking my mom's upgrade, but if there are issues with her having to activate or me having to activate instead of just popping the sim in then I might buy the full price version. Thanks again for your help!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #10
    I bought the full priced unlocked. Expensive, sure, but guaranteed there'd be no issues. Good luck!
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #11
    Awesome, yeah I guess I will do the same thing to avoid any issues! Did you cut your sim down? I am trying to find a good guide to do it, but none of the one's I have found so far online deal with Verizon micro sims specifically.

    Thanks again for your help!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #12
    Happy to help, not a problem. And I actually just had Verizon port my number to the iPhone and just used the sim that came with that. Then, I can pop it out and stick it in the Nexus. Actually pretty pain-free once I found an iPhone 5!
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #13
    Oh great! So Verizon ported your number even though it is on a business account? I thought that I might not be able to do that because the account is owned by my company and therefore I wouldn't have any authority to make any changes - maybe I was wrong about that. If they can port the number to a different SIM without me needing to be the actual account owner that would be ideal.

    I was thinking I would have to cut my sim because I wouldnt be able to use the nano sim.
     

Share This Page