Switcher Day 2

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jeffgtr, Jun 2, 2005.

1. jeffgtr macrumors regular

May 9, 2005
    For anyone thats a windows user thats considering getting a mac as a secondary computer or to switch completely here's my experience so far.

My situation: I'm a web designer/developer. I work primarily with DW, Flash, Cold Fusion, some asp and asp.net. I also am a heavy user of Photoshop and Cubase. I switched away from mac when win95 was released.

Set up: Piece of cake. I have a Power Mac dual 2.0 added 1gig of RAM and installed a second HD it was much easier than with the wintel box took all of 15 minutes, seriously. Connection to the home network was plug and play. Setting up remote access to the wintel box (I must have this for asp and still in he process of moving to mac and have to keep productivity up) again, simple works like a charm. Install of Microsoft Intellimouse Bluetooth was a problem, the usb bluetooth adapter for the mouse would not work, purchased iogear usb bluetooth adapter which solved the problem, mouse, phone, pda are all paired. Oh the monitor I'm using is the Dell 20" that gets good reviews on this board, works great. The apple mouse that came with the computer is a problem, I really like having 2 buttons.

Software install. Piece of cake, Studio MX allows 2 installs, everything else was without issue. Still experimenting with ftp programs. For now I'm still using the pc for most ftp.