Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

B-Line

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 22, 2006
I am a university science/education student up in Canada and I have recently ordered a 2.0 Macbook, with 120GB HD and 1 Gig of RAM (should have it by Thursday… hopefully). I have a number of questions in regards to parallels/ boot-camp and applications but most are in regards to bootcamp/parallels (hence this forum). I am new to macs so please be gentle…

Applications/OS questions

1.This upcoming semester I will need to use a program called Matlab (for a numerical methods course) and I am wondering what the best way to run this program would be. I have the program for windows XP but am wondering if it would be better to run it under bootcamp or parallels. I intend to use OSX as much as possible and will only need to use this program every so often. I would like to use parallels but I am wondering if it is stable enough to be trusted with an assignment I will have worked on for countless hours.

2. I also like puttering around with autocad 2002. I don’t do any heavy 3D rendering so would parallels be sufficient to run this program?

3. I have a copy of Microsoft office xp. As I have previously said I would like to run OSX most of the time. I can get a copy of office 2004 from my university at a discount. I am wondering if you would suggest:

a) waiting until a universal copy of office comes out for mac
b) buying the office 2004 program for mac.
c) running office xp under parallels
d) running office xp under bootcamp

Bootcamp Questions:

Reading these forums it seems like it best to use the fat32 format (from my above comments would you suggest this is what I should do?)

Some Questions:
4. What size of partition should I make? (as you can see I use some pretty large windows software)