Switches Spaces freezes computer

Discussion in 'OS X' started by celticpride678, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    I have noticed that since upgrading to 10.6.2, I have had an issue with Spaces. Let me try to explain as well as I can. Here it goes:

    When switching Spaces, you'll get that little image on the bottom, telling you which space you just switched to. However, sometimes, when switching spaces on SL 10.6.2, that little image will stay there and no disappear like it should. When it just stays there, the entire keyboard stops working because Mac OS X still thinks I am performing the Spaces switch. A logout is required.

    Does anyone have any ideas/fixes for this? It happens a lot

    Running 10.6.2 with all updates applied.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON
    #2
    Same problem I am experiencing.

    Normally I would go to Secrets.prefPane and kill the Dock there.

    This had never happened to me in Leopard (And I start to think Leopard is much better).
     
  3. thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Does anyone think that applying the latest Combo Updater might fix it?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    When 10.6.3 comes out, maybe.

    Reapplying the 10.6.2 updater probably won't fix it. I've seen several threads on problems with Spaces and Snow.
     
  5. thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    It kinda stinks and 10.6.3 is far away :(
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #7
    10.6.3 is out, and the bug is still there. Doh.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #8
    Verified

    Same here. I've discovered unplugging my keyboard and plugging it back in will fix it temporarily. It's not an ideal solution, but for now it will do.

    Question: for those of us having this issue, are you running any java programs?
     
  9. thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    I have not had the issue since 10.6.3 was released, but that might be just for me.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Stevamundo

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #10
    Startly idiots keeping erasing this message from me on their forum

    I was simply trying to inform people, that if you have QK X3 3.2.3 that you should go back to it. At least for me 3.2.3, spaces and Snow Leopard works perfectly. I think there's something wrong with QK 4.0.7.

    Basically that's all I said and they kept erasing my message, IDIOTS!

    Also I got an e-mail from them basically blaming Snow Leopard for the bug. :rolleyes:
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #11
    I am still having this problem as of 10.6.5. Does anyone know of a workaround? It is very annoying.

    Basically when switching spaces, as described, the space graphic which shows which space has been moved to freezes and wont disappear and the keyboard freezes and wont allow any input at all.

    Although using fast user switching rectifies the problem it is not an ideal fix at all and this problem happens a lot, albeit at seemingly random times.

    Any ideas? :confused:
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #12
    Closing and re-opening the lid on a MacBook breaks it out of this state, as does opening Activity Monitor and killing the dock. Neither one is at all optimal.

    The closest I've found to a practical solution is to install Hyperspaces and use its keyboard shortcuts, disabling the native Spaces shortcuts. It's stupid, but it works.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #13
    Thanks for the tip about closing the lid. I am amazed that there isn't more of an uproar about this. I guess that it isn't happening to that many people or this would have been fixed by now. It makes my mac somewhat unusable though.

    Is Hyperspaces any good?
     

Share This Page