switching a G4 for a core duo

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wmmk, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    i know this is a dumb question, but can i stick a core duo in my mac mini G4, but keep the ATI videocard and same mothherboard? also, if i did this, would all of my apps that needed a serial number still work? i've heard things about apps not working after a processor change (cause of authorization, not actual CPU switch)

    is there a list of PPC apps that CANNOT run in rosetta? i really love all my apps.

    now that i think of it, i'd still have ppc os x on the mini. could i use my friend's intel iMac install disk (i actually have paid for osx, just PPC osx, not x86 osx, so i wouldnt be pirating)
     
  2. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #2
    i also would probably wait for leapord or the final release of the VMware or paralells stuff to do this, but probably for leopard. that way, i'd be TOTLLY legelly clean.
     
  3. 1dterbeest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Waupun, WI
  4. Shamus macrumors 6502a

    Shamus

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #4
    The CPU is soldered to the motherboard. The computer architecture is different for both the PPC and the Core Duo. Basically, it cannot be swapped.

    Maybe if you were a professional solderer, and also a computer architect/technician, you would have a chance of getting it to work. It would cost more than a new Mac Mini anyway.
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    Question:
    Can i stick a core duo in my mac mini G4?

    Answer:
    No



    ;)
     
  6. Shamus macrumors 6502a

    Shamus

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #6
    There's the short answer :D.
     
  7. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #7
    ok, so much for that idea. there's a chip in the intel macs that only apple x86 machines have to let them run os x, right? my friend and I enjoy building machines, and he has a few intel macs, as his dad is a dev for some medical company or something that uses macs to do tests. could we, in affect, take out this one great chip, build a super awesome AMD FX64 (fastest on the planet!) based machine, pile on the RAM, stick in a couple o' video cards, throw this all in a PM G5 enclosure, put in the one holy grail of a little chip, add all other neccesary, install OS X from the iMacs install disk by installing x86 darwin, and hacking around, then have the greatest personal computer ever?
     
  8. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    Without using a hacked version of OS X, probably not. But it sounds like you're just doing this for fun, in which case I have heard of hacked versions of OS X that allow you to use it on some non-Apple x86 hardware. But realize that this would just be a project for fun and not a system that you would want to use as your everyday system. I am sure that a hacked version of OS X running on non-standard Apple hardware will have significant stability problems. But as long as you do it just as a fun hobbyist project I say it could probably be done and it sounds like fun. There are websites around that are dedicated to just this type of thing. Maybe someone here knows the addresses and I'm sure you could find them through google easily. If you do decide to go for it, keep us updated and let us know how it turns out.
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #9
    Not exactly how it works. Democrat, I don't intend to be mean by saying this, but I've seen a few of the posts you've made... I think it would be a good idea (in your own best interest) for you to read more and learn more, and post less for now.
     
  10. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
  11. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #11
    i have answered this SO many times. i am 12, and i signed up to be on the forums with an older person.
     
  12. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #12
    Well, I guess it worked, because you're on the forums with a lot of older people. ;)

    Thank you, I'll be here all week.
     
  13. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #13
    tee hee giggle giggle!
     
  14. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #14
    you're 12?! I thought under 20 for sure but 12?! ok, good luck with everything.
     
  15. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15
    ???
     
  16. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    "To sleep, perchance to dream, ay, there's the rub."
     
  17. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #17
    And by "good luck with everything," that really includes EVERYTHING. There is not enough money on the planet to pay me enough to relive the entire twelfth year of my life. All of the planet's money could maybe convince me to relive one day from my twelfth year, but only if I could pick the day. This isn't the right forum for this stuff, so I'm not gonna make this long, but the best advice I can give you if your adolescence is going anything like most people's, is to keep in mind that your middle school years WILL end eventually and high school is usually a big improvement over middle school for most people. Good luck with EVERYTHING. :)
     

Share This Page