Switching.. but not to Mac OSX

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by lostboi, Dec 23, 2002.

1. lostboi macrumors newbie

Hi fellows,

If you would have asked me a year ago which is the killer system i would have shouted APPLE without a doubt.. but nowadays i am having second thoughts more and more.

I've been using macs since 1991 when i used my first mac a SE/30. It was like the iMac of the 20th century but even smaller and with a black/white screen. Mostly I played games like Crystal Quest and did some very basic drawing, i liked it better than my state of the art nintendo 8bit.. Further more i used a quadra centris performa imac and now i'm writing this thread on my QS G4.. But not for long because i'll be switching.

But don't worry i won't be switching to windows.. using those M$ machines is enough torture when i have to use them on my university.. because i'll still laugh at my friends whom are always mucking about with the products of the devil who calls himself Bill Gates. It will be a switch to linux.

I've been using the new unix based OS from apple since the public beta and i must say it's the best but slowest os. I'm now using 10.2 and what i like most is the heart of the os called darwin because it's open source.. what i mean it's free and it not only runs on a ppc but also on x86 system and therefore more agile and interesting. My main problem with all open source projects were that they lacked the apps i need like photoshop, illustrator and an easy installer. But that's all behind the past because linux has the gimp(photoshop) and sodipodi(illustrator). I'm using them right now with xdarwin and installed them with fink.. all free! and the sweetest thing is, i don't need a big bucks apple system to run them. And this final fact will be the final reason for me to switch to linux.