switching from AT&T to T-Mobile

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mentaluproar, Jul 1, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #1
    I love coverage with AT&T, but the call quality is generally pretty bad and I hate their pricing. If I just pay the ETF and unlock my iPhone 4S, I can go to T-mobile and spend half of what I am with AT&T. In this area, I know a few people with the iPhone 5 that get great coverage. My concern is while I know data will be slower on my 4S than the 5 when I switch to T-mobile, how will voice coverage be? Will it be identical?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #2
    T-Mobile has the fastest 3G/"4G" network of all the carriers in most areas, but their overall coverage (including voice coverage) is severely lacking in rural areas.

    I would look at the coverage maps to see if the area you live in and the areas you frequent have coverage before switching.


    Also this app is pretty handy for comparing all 4 carriers in your area:

    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/coverage/id388815949?mt=8
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #3
    I understand, but assuming the area I want coverage in has good reception on an iphone 5, would I still get that with my old 4S?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #4
    Your iPhone 4S will have the same voice capabilities as an iPhone 5.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #5
    You'll have Voice/Edge everywhere an iPhone 5 does.

    You won't have LTE.

    You won't have 4G where TMo is using 1700 MHz spectrum.
    4S only supports TMo refarmed 1900MHz 4G areas.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #6
    You will have the same voice capabilities as the 5. But the get the full experience you will need a T-Mobile iPhone 5 or a unlocked version with the AWS band.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    OP, if you value coverage and a usable phone everywhere then AT&T and VZW are your only choices. Too many switch to TMo and Sprint thinking cheaper is better, but the reality is that TMo can't even remotely provide as reliable of service as the big two.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    djransom

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Chi-Town
    #8
    This is true. I made the switch and sometimes I regret it, but I refuse to go back to paying what I was.
     
  9. AutoUnion39, Jul 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    Valid point. If you can get away with it, its alright, but if you travel a lot, etc, you have to pay the upcharge because all that EDGE is ridiculous

    Anyone who claims that they have never seen EDGE on TMobile is either full of it or they don't leave their house.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    djransom

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Chi-Town
    #10
    I've definitely seen it and the speed is very frustrating when I've seen it like to the point where I say forget it and put my phone down.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    I dont know what your paying now but AT&T has the $60 GoPhone Prepaid plan...you can get refills from callingmart.com for as low as $54/month...with their 10% off coupons.

    it gives you:
    - Unlimited Talk + Texting (Incl International)
    - Unlimited MMS
    - 2GB Data (HSPA+ LTE - if you had iPhone 5)
    - Visual Voicemail


    doesnt get better then that...
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Heck, I even see EDGE on AT&T sometimes right here in Cingular's home town.

    ----------

    That's fine if you're single... :)

    Price differences are a lot more substantial when you get into five line family plan and don't upgrade every line to a brand new phone every two years.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #13
    I don't travel much. I live in akron, parents in massillon, and college in north canton ohio. T-mobile should be adequate for me, but I figured my phone would fall back to 3G, not edge.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    djransom

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Chi-Town
    #14
    Nope it can fall back to Edge. It's happen to me a few times, but I deal with it because it's a trade off. Cheaper service that gets me by vs paying a premium for service.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #15
    Show me one place in this thread where someone made that claim. BTW, I constantly see my 4S drop to EDGE on AT&T in my house and elsewhere. And I live in the 5th largest metropolitan area in the country. AT&T is no panacea of wonderful coverage as you constantly claim it to be.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #16
    There's a difference between getting edge in low signal situations like a building and being stuck on EDGE outside top metro areas. Plus major highways and such, where AT&T and VZW have no problem putting up LTE. But I'm sure you don't understand the difference anyways. Why bother even trying to argue.
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #17
    Having 3G while driving through West Virginia isn't worth the handicapped data plans that AT&T offers. I'm fine with Tmobile.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #18
    I work in Akron, perfect lte everywhere I go. As for canton... I'll find out this weekend.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #19
    Agreed, I switched to T-Mobile for the cheaper price and had decent coverage around where I lived and thought it was awesome. Then I spent a weekend traveling and half the time I had zero coverage and many missed calls. As soon as I got back home I ported back to AT&T. I'll gladly pay the extra $20 a month for much better service.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #20
    According to the coverage app, I should be fine, but I know that's not always the case. Keep me posted. :)
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #21
    Never rely on the coverage map, you can only rely on your cancellation policy.
     

Share This Page