switching from bootcamp to parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by downingp, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. downingp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #1
    I am currently running bootcamp to use windows xp. I keep hearing about how great parallels is. If I wanted to switch from bootcamp to parallels, would i have to reinstall windows and all my software?

    thanks.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The latest parallels allows you to keep your bootcamp partition and use that, so no need to reinstall, and you can go to dual booting if you need to play a game or use USB 2.0
     
  3. downingp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #3
    are there instructions on how to switch from bootcamp to parallels on the updated parallels software. I know there is a simple three step process for installing windows fresh using parallels; but what about an easy switch from bootcamp to parallels?
     
  4. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    It does? :eek: I never heard that they implemented that.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    It's still in beta, but yes.

    B
     
  6. failsafe1 macrumors 6502a

    failsafe1

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #6
    Be careful. I tried the new beta of Parallels after loading boot camp and things appeared fine. But did not have keyboard support when trying to boot into boot camp. There is a fix for that with advanced settings in the Windows control panel found on the Parallels forum. But even after that fix I had to reactivate Windows Xp each time I switched from boot camp to Parallels. I love the concept but think I will wait for non beat software.
     
  7. Am3822 macrumors 6502

    Am3822

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    #7
    I think that Microsoft's product activation scheme is going to cause a lot of problems -- if it's sensitive to changes in the MAC address, then switching from standalone (bootcamp-like) to parallels emulation is going to be a problem.
     
  8. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #8
    the only thing is that your windows XP partition needs to be for formated as NTFC not FAT32 but i think they will improve that
     
  9. downingp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #9
    It sounds like I should hold off for a few more development builds before I make the switch. I am not having any problems with bootcamp at all.
     
  10. quicksilverpdx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    #10
    can you realy change between osx and xp by moving or tapping on the macbook?
     
  11. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Wise move.

    1. Right now it is not possible to run XP in Parallels and Boot Camp without having to reactiovate XP each time you load one or the other
    2. If you use MacDrive and install Parallels Tools on the Boot Camp XP partition, MacDrive will no longer work in Boot Camp (you'll have to unistall Parallels Tools).

    Another word of caution for those experimenting with the new Parallels beta: make sure you uninstall the Parallels Tools from your VM before going back to the previous version of Parallels. If you don't, chances are your VM will no longer work. Apparently the new version of Parallels Tools in the beta is not compatible with the previous official relase of Parallels (build 1970).
     
  12. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #12
    Weird, I haven't had that problem. I thought the way Parallels implemented the different hardware profiles (between booting up in Boot Camp and booting up in Parallels) had something to do with that.
     
  13. quicksilverpdx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    #13
    So if I prefer to run parallels I should NOT install and use boot camp?
     
  14. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    You must have a corporate verison of XP which does not require activation. Anyone using Home or Pro (non-corporate) will have the problem I mentioned.
     
  15. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Its up to you. If you install parallels and bootcamp, you can use parallels quickly, but bootcamp when you need USB 2.0 and 3D.
     
  16. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #16
    Yeah, I didn't know about the MacDrive problem when I installed the Parallels Tools. And I don't use Parallels often enough for it to matter, so I'll probably just scrap it. About the only time I need Windows is when gaming.
     
  17. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #17
    You can use both, so long as you are using the official release of Parallels, since it does not have the ability to corrupt your Boot Camp partition the way the latest beta does. And even if you want to try out the beta for its other features (i.e., other than the ability to run the Windows installed on the Boot Camp partion as a VM), the two will coexist just fine. My advice is: if you've invested a fair amount time building and configuring your Boot Camp partition, stay away from hooking it up in Parallels. I know it's tempting (saves disk space, avoids a lot of duplication), but I think it's wise to wait until this feature gets all its kinks straightened out.
     
  18. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #18
    I keep both, although I probably could do without Boot Camp. I don't do gaming and the main reason I'm keeping Boot Camp is that I can use my 24" Dell monitor in portrait mode (great for web surfing). Parallels gives me the ability to use MS Office 2003 Apps inside OS X, avoiding the need to pay for the Mac version (which is inferior anyway, IMO ).
     

Share This Page