Switching IDEs for large Java project

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by wrldwzrd89, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    I've recently discovered NetBeans, a Java IDE, and decided to switch to it from Eclipse, since Eclipse has given me nothing but problems on my Intel Mac, and NetBeans has a GUI builder.

    Anyway, some of you may know about Dungeon Diver - this project, along with all its dependencies, needs to get converted over to the NetBeans system. Complicating matters is the fact that I'm also switching project types, from Java Application to Java Desktop Application, and converting over all my old code to use the new GUI layout manager.

    I've already done the preliminary steps of converting all the libraries Dungeon Diver uses from Eclipse projects to NetBeans projects. Now, I just need to make this massive transition of all my GUI code... which is going to be a pain. Are there any plugins for NetBeans, or features of NetBeans, that can make such a task easier? For example, I'm going to need to mass-rename old function calls. I haven't found an easy way to do this in NetBeans yet.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #2
    A good example of why you should always just use emacs :)

    How complicated is the GUI? Would it be worth it just to redo the layout from scratch in Netbeans GUI builder and implement the callbacks with (portions of) the original code?
     
  3. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    You mean besides using the Refactor menu?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    As far as redoing the GUI goes, I think that's exactly what I'm going to end up doing.
    I must admit, I haven't explored all the options in the Refactor menu - I don't know if there's something there that will do what I'm looking for.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    You find that you have many of the same options as Eclipse - if you want to rename a method, select Rename and all of the references will be updated. You can chose to preview before doing so.
     

Share This Page