Switching itself off!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Buzby, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. Buzby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #1
    PowerPC G5!

    My Mac seems to want to switch itself off! Its done it 3 times in the last hour? Has this happened to anyone before? I thought it may be to warm, could this be a possibility? Really am quite concerned, especially as I'm working on the MAC.

    Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. jamesW135 macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #2
    Is the power cabel pushed in all the way? If its not you might be hitting it with your foot and it's turning off.:)
     
  3. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #3
    Yep, checked that!

    I thought something was up this morning as I was convinced I have left it on Sleep last night, but this morning I had to start it up. :rolleyes:
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Do you have it scheduled to shut down in the Energy Saver preferences? In Tiger, just click on the Schedule button to find out the settings, if relevant. :)
     
  5. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #5
    Is the machine suddenly a lot quieter? It wouldn't hurt to take the side off and make sure all the fans are spinning.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  7. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #7
    I have it set to go to 'Sleep' if inactive for more than an hour. Again tested it last night by putting it to Sleep. This mornng I havd to start it up.:confused:
     
  8. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #8

    It sounds about the same, but you know when your not sure as you start questioning 'do you always sound like that'.:cool:
     
  9. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #9
    Mac OS X Version 10.3.9
    Processor 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5
    Memory 512 MB DDR SDRAM
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  11. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #11

    My Mac tells me that I don't need to update this software! :rolleyes:

    I'm assuming its already on?
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Yeah, it's probably already installed then. Maybe reset your SMU then. :)
     
  13. Buzby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #13
    Okay, done! Have reset SMU. Will see how we get on throughout the day. Many thanks Mad Jew, appreciate it. (still slightly jealous that your in Australia!)

    Cheers!
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Ha, yeah, Australia's pretty cool. :D

    Hopefully you won't have any more issues. :)
     

Share This Page