Switching; Macbook to MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ammonialime, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. ammonialime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #1
    I recently bought a C2D Macbook, im tottaly blown away by its performance however i wish that i had bought the MBP for the screen size. What im wondering is if i were to sell the Macbook and buy a Macbook pro would i be able to take out the current harddrive in my macbook, install it in the MBP and then boot from the same OS X config that im using now on my Macbook. Meaning all my software, preferences, and media would be present ? Would it be that simple or would i have to reinstall everything and reload all my documents etc....
     
  2. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Well wait, you want to sell the Macbook without a hard drive then? Or you would put the Macbook Pro hard drive into the Macbook and the Macbook hard drive into the Macbook Pro? Sounds kinda messy, I'd just make a copy of the Macbook hard drive on an external HD and then go from there.
     
  3. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    The harddrive in a MBP is not user replaceable, so no, you cannot. Unless you want to perform surgery on a 2000+ bucks beast, that is. It would be much easier to buy the MBP, connect the MB with a firewire cable, and use migration assistant to transfer your files and preferences, etc.
     
  4. ammonialime thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #4
    Is that method going to ensure things such as album artwork, and applications like quicksilver are all transferred properly. ? Ive transferred my stuff 3 times in the last year and found it to be similiar to moving your house, not very enjoyable. Id prefer to avoid the tedious task of doing it manually at all costs.
     
  5. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    The user migration agent does all that without the hardware hassle. All you need is just one little FW cable :)
     
  7. hanschien macrumors 6502

    hanschien

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    I just bought a 2.16 C2D MacBook Pro to replace my 2.0 CD MacBook today and that's exactly what I did. The process took me about 2 hours but I was presented with my familiar desktop, applications and settings.
     
  8. fustercluck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #8
    Just to confirm - it really did work flawlessly for me as well.
     

Share This Page