Switching...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by massfrequency, May 12, 2006.

1. massfrequency macrumors newbie

I am a Computer Science student at Virginia Tech. Sadly for the past 4-5 years of my life I have used Microsoft Windows XP as my predominant operating system, only to be greeted with massive headaches and various OS reinstalls. As a child I can remember using Mac OS 5-8 and never having major computer issues. (right now my relatively new [it's only 9 months old!] ACER TravelMate 8104 has had a motherboard replaced TWICE, a hard drive failure, and RAM failure... luckily i have a 3yr warranty) Not to mention the problems which Windows XP brings to the table by itself... (but i need not go into detail... we all know how poor Windows is)

My dad on the other hand is an avid Mac user and has never used Windows unless he *had* to. After dealing with ACER's BS and Windows nonsense I think I'm ready to switch...

Although I don't want another laptop (i paid 3 grand for this POS and I plan on using it 2 more yrs at least) ... and I already have a 19 inch LCD... so... what would you guys recommend? What is the future of the PowerMac? (I'd love to have a fast desktop because between the department of Computer Science here, my internship at NASA, and my work at the Collegiate Times I need that kind of power..) Are the PowerMacs coming anytime soon???

Although I don't want another laptop (i paid 3 grand for this POS and I plan on using it 2 more yrs at least) ... and I already have a 19 inch LCD... so... what would you guys recommend? What is the future of the PowerMac? (I'd love to have a fast desktop because between the department of Computer Science here, my internship at NASA, and my work at the Collegiate Times I need that kind of power..) Are the PowerMacs coming anytime soon???

2. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

The current PowerMac is a powerful and very capable machine - especially the Quad.