SWOOP

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iEric, May 15, 2004.

  1. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #1
    I'm getting a Powerbook 17" 1.5 ghz soon and I am selling my dual powermac g4 1.0 ghz. I was wondering if there was a program, or an easy way, that I could just copy the whole HD and everyone will work. I have so many programs, I do not want to waste my time installing them again.
     
  2. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #2
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    just connect the 15" and the powermac with an ethernet cord, make sure Personal File Sharing is turned on on the powermac, and connect to the powermac from the powerbook using Cmd+K in finder (typing the computer's share name will be sufficient), then type in your shortname and password for the powermac in the prompt that comes up, then drag your applications and your home folder onto the powerbook's hdd. I wouldn't copy the OS because that stuff maybe newer than your old OS install on the powermac. Also your new shortname on the powerbook must match the shortname on the powermac if you want to use the home folder contents.

    EDIT: I wouldn't use carbon copy cloner, since that copies the whole OS and you could run into problems.
     
  4. iEric thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    Oh is it that easy? Doing it your method, does it copy all the library stuff too? So its all ready to go and no error messages pop up?
     
  5. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    He could use CCC then do an archive and install from the software restore cd that came with the new machine. That would make sure the OS part was up to date while not losing his settings.
     
  6. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6
    yeah, I've done this numerous times from my backup. It might be better to just drag the folders individually (delete the folders in your home directory on the 15" and just drag them over from the powermac via the network). It works fine, as long as the shortnames are the same (your short name is the same as the name of your home folder). You'll have to reinstall any drivers or hacks though. But that shouldn't be overwhelming.
     

Share This Page