SWTOR on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sith Vol, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. Sith Vol, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 14, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Just wondering if anyone is running or planning on running Star Wars The Old Republic on their MBA? I have a 13in, lower model and was curious if it would successfully run or even install if I had Win 7 installed on my Air.

    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I am currently running it on my Dell 15 Studio with i5 and 4gb of ram and that seems to be good enough for me. Just wondering if I could play it on my Air too.

    Btw I'm playing due to early access.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #2
    core i5 and 4gb ram doesnt say much... WHICH i5 (how much ghz?) and what graphics card does your dell have?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I think it's 2.4 ghz. Not sure on the graphics card. And it's Intel i5.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #4
    Well obviously the dell's processor is a lot better than the air's. The ram is the same , so the question is: Can it run on the intel HD3000 graphics chip?
    Here's what SWTOR's site says:
    Code:
    What are the system requirements for the game?
    Processor:
    
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+ or better
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz or better
    Operating System:
    Windows XP or later
    RAM:
    
    Windows XP: 1.5GB RAM
    Windows Vista and Windows 7: 2GB RAM
    Note: PCs using a built-in graphical chipset are recommended to have 2GB of RAM.
    
    Star Wars: The Old Republic requires a video card that has a minimum of 256MB of on-board RAM as well as support for Shader 3.0 or better. Examples include:
    
    ATI X1800 or better
    nVidia 7800 or better
    Intel 4100 Integrated Graphics or better
    DVD-ROM drive – 8x speed or better (required for installation from physical editions only) Internet connection required to play.
    I think it will play it.
    But I don't know what the intel 4100 is... I assume it's something the SWTOR people made up, since you search google for it and only SWTOR info comes up. What the hell are they talking about?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Anybody with experience of running it yet? I am only planning to put W7 on the Air if it runs good and how much space I'll need to partition for it.
     
  6. alphaod, Dec 17, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011

    macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #6
    I'm thinking someone messed up and it was suppose to say Intel 4500 which is the GPU from like 3 years ago.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    It runs fine on a 2010 13inch MBP, for whatever that's worth. I reckon you'll be ok if you can sacrifice the space.
    You might get away with a minimal windows install and then installing SWTOR on an external drive
     

Share This Page