Sync-On-Green (or Sync-On-Y)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mmmcheese, Nov 8, 2006.

  1. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone know if the MBP video out supports sync-on-green?

    I'm hoping to get away with this cable (http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/video-to-vga.html#hd15rgb) to connect my machine to my HDTV, but if the MBP doesn't support it, I may have to go the expensive route and get a transcoder.

    Thanks
     
  2. macg4 macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #2
    dont know, good question. hopefully someone else here does know!
     
  3. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #3
    Very much doubt it. The MBP supports VGA and DVI, not component. Even if the video card has "sync-on-y" in its specs, the Apple usage doesn't support it. Your HDTV must have VGA/DVI, no? Is it an old RPTV with component only? Usually they at least had a VGA input.
     
  4. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #4
    Nope, if I had VGA/DVI, I wouldn't be asking :D.

    It's an HD-ready CRT. I have 3 or 4 component input, and also composite and s-video, but it would be nice to be able to run stuff at 1080i rather than 480i.

    It's a nice TV, it just doesn't have the newer digital inputs (and sadly no VGA in).
     
  5. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #5
    Well, make sure none of those are 5-wire component inputs. That would be the same as VGA. Otherwise, a VGA-component transcoder is the only solution.
     
  6. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #6
    No, they are standard 3 wire component cables you see on all consumer devices (TV/DVD/etc.).

    I know that some ATI cards can do sync-on-green (they used to sell a basic adaptor for the Radeon 8500), but it might have been implementation dependent. I suppose I could always waste the $20 and try it, but who wants to waste $20 if someone knows the answer already. :)
     
  7. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #7
    Definitely.
     
  8. mmmcheese thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #8
    I was just hoping that someone on here had tried it or knows if this implementation supports it.

    Oh well, maybe once I get around to buying AppleCare, I'll call up the techs and harass them. :)
     
  9. schonfep macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #9
    I am currently trying to make this work with my MacBook Pro with Radeon X1600 graphics card, the same cable (from Sewell Direct), and a Samsung txn3071whf CRT HDTV (1080i). I've had little to no luck so far but I'm optimistic.

    Connecting the DVI port of my computer to the Component inputs on the TV and playing with the display preferences of the external display has so far not worked*. I've spoken to tech support at Apple, ATI, and Sewell Direct and so far people have told me that they think this should be possible, but no one has been able to walk me through something that worked yet. The specs for the ATI Radeon X1600 card state that the card has, "YPrPb component output for direct drive of HDTV displays"
    http://ati.amd.com/products/RadeonX1600/specs.html
    but the person I spoke to at ATI said perhaps I'd need to enable the component output of the card -- which I don't know how to do. He also said that Apple made a special version of the Radeon X1600 for MacBook Pros.

    Has anyone else had luck? (or decided that this is not possible?) Should this be possible?

    * I was able to get some garbled, distorted images on the HDTV when I used some non-standard settings in the display prefs -- like 1280x800 @75 Hz, etc., but no image at all when I tried 1920x1080 @60 Hz.
     

Share This Page