Syncing Palm m125 with iCal?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dscan99, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. dscan99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #1
    I have an old but fully functional Pam m125 that I currently use the Palm software on my Mac to keep things in sync. However I find I use OSX's iCal and AddressBook a lot more to edit and keep data up to date.. is there a way that it's possible to sync my paln from iCal and AddressBook directly ?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. NoCleverSNForMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
  3. dscan99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #3

    d-uh me!!!!! Of course... Thanks :)
     
  4. NoCleverSNForMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    #4
    One problem that I've faced with my Treo 650 and Treo 600...

    The Address Book doesn't sync anything besides phone number, name, and email address.

    No birthdays, addresses, special notes, etc.

    They say Apple is working on it, but I've been waiting for quite a while for them to fix it.

    For now, you can use Palm's own program for full syncing functionality. But, like you said, OS X Address Book and OS X iCal is just better. :)

    Just thought I'd give you that heads up.


    Nathan
     
  5. dscan99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #5
    oh. :( That sucks... It only makes sense if they had included at least a "mailing address" in that list... Hmm.. I guess I will just have to stick to Palm's program then...

    darn.. the Palm interface doesn't even compare to iCal and addressbook!
    Thanks for that heads up!
     
  6. dscan99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #6
    Well I'm just now trying to sync using iSync and I don't see "iSync" as a Conduit in my Conduit manager. I believe I have all the latest versions of Palm Desktop, hot Sync Manager, Conduit manager etc.....

    what am i missing?? :confused:
     
  7. NoCleverSNForMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    #7
    Okay, I was just lazy earlier today.

    There's an actual conduit you have to DOWNLOAD, INSTALL, and ACTIVATE in your Conduit Manager. :)

    This is the link:

    http://a1408.g.akamai.net/7/1408/13.../2Z/061-0633.20030923.98h6F/iSync_Palm1.2.dmg

    Install it, then look for it in your Conduit Manager. Double-click on the iSync Conduit from Apple, then just check the "activate this computer for syncing" box and you're done.


    You will need Palm Desktop 4.0 or later; I'm sure you've got the latest one if you're using either one of the Treos (600/650).


    Nathan Qazi
    nathanqazi@mac.com
     
  8. dscan99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #8
    Thanks Nathan! :) So that worked..! But for some reason just as I synched up my Palm using the Palm Hot Sync manager, I got 2 duplicate entries of each of my address book entries!! Aargh.. how'd that happen??? It synced fine just the way it was supposed to couple months back during the last sync...

    Im thinking it's time to upgrade the ol 125.
     

Share This Page