System Preferences - Start up disk cannot see Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Justelis, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Justelis, Apr 22, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #1
    Hello,
    recently I reinstalled Windows 7 from Ultimates to Professionals I used USB to do it.
    So I spotted that my Start up disk can't see Windows 7.
    What I can see when I go to Start up disk

    [​IMG]

    And this is how my Disk Utility looks like:

    [​IMG]



    So my question is how I can make Windows visible on Start up disk?

    Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Can you boot into Windows via holding down the OPTION key right after the startup sound chimes?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #3
    Yes, I can I forgot to mention about this.
    But for example if I boot Mac OS I cannot go back to Windows without holding option key, it automatically boots Mac
    Maybe you know how to solve this problem?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #4
    I can't see your screen shots in any of three web browsers. Can you fix them?
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    I can see them quite well in Safari 5.1.5.

    To the OP, what happens, when you choose Verify Disk in Disk Utility on that Windows partition?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #6
    OK well, interestingly enough Mac OS X presently thinks the Windows disk is MS-DOS (FAT) formatted rather than NTFS. Mac OS X will only display Windows 7 as a Startup Disk item for NTFS formatted disks that contains a system it can boot.

    ----------

    Safari is tolerant of images with .jpeg filename extensions. Other web browsers are not, that's the problem.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Yeah, I suspected that to be the reason.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #8
    Maybe you guys know solution?
    When I try to verify it says you have to repair disk and whe I try repair it says you cannot repair disk..
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #9
    Did you reformat the Windows partition to NTFS before you installed Windows 7? This is step 2 through 5 in the Boot Camp Install Setup for 10.7.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #10
    No I didn't..And if I don't have USB or disk to reinstall Windows so I can't solve this problem without reinstalling Windows?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #11
    Correct.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #12
    That's just great U took USB from friend for couple days, and then I took 8h to install it and I did it all wrong, awesome.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #13
    Usually it pays to read the instructions. But quite honestly I find Boot Camp to be a huge PITA as well as risky. Unless you're playing games, I don't see why you don't just run Windows in a virtual machine instead.

    I'm surprised Windows 7 even lets users install onto FAT32.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #14
    Playing games, working with Pinacle. And virtual machines coast alot of your computer resourses that's why I install Windows
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    ModestMoo

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #15
    OT: Maybie you're Lithuanian? :eek:
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #16
    It actually doesn't, but it depends on what you're doing. Games and video editing even somewhat consider the operating itself a hinderance. Let alone two of them and a layer in between.
     

Share This Page