System Preferences - Start up disk cannot see Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Justelis, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Justelis, Apr 22, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012

    Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #1
    Hello,
    recently I reinstalled Windows 7 from Ultimates to Professionals I used USB to do it.
    So I spotted that my Start up disk can't see Windows 7.
    What I can see when I go to Start up disk

    [​IMG]

    And this is how my Disk Utility looks like:

    [​IMG]



    So my question is how I can make Windows visible on Start up disk?

    Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Can you boot into Windows via holding down the OPTION key right after the startup sound chimes?
     
  3. Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #3
    Yes, I can I forgot to mention about this.
    But for example if I boot Mac OS I cannot go back to Windows without holding option key, it automatically boots Mac
    Maybe you know how to solve this problem?
     
  4. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #4
    I can't see your screen shots in any of three web browsers. Can you fix them?
     
  5. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    I can see them quite well in Safari 5.1.5.

    To the OP, what happens, when you choose Verify Disk in Disk Utility on that Windows partition?
     
  6. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #6
    OK well, interestingly enough Mac OS X presently thinks the Windows disk is MS-DOS (FAT) formatted rather than NTFS. Mac OS X will only display Windows 7 as a Startup Disk item for NTFS formatted disks that contains a system it can boot.

    ----------

    Safari is tolerant of images with .jpeg filename extensions. Other web browsers are not, that's the problem.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Yeah, I suspected that to be the reason.
     
  8. Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #8
    Maybe you guys know solution?
    When I try to verify it says you have to repair disk and whe I try repair it says you cannot repair disk..
     
  9. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #9
    Did you reformat the Windows partition to NTFS before you installed Windows 7? This is step 2 through 5 in the Boot Camp Install Setup for 10.7.
     
  10. Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #10
    No I didn't..And if I don't have USB or disk to reinstall Windows so I can't solve this problem without reinstalling Windows?
     
  11. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #11
    Correct.
     
  12. Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #12
    That's just great U took USB from friend for couple days, and then I took 8h to install it and I did it all wrong, awesome.
     
  13. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #13
    Usually it pays to read the instructions. But quite honestly I find Boot Camp to be a huge PITA as well as risky. Unless you're playing games, I don't see why you don't just run Windows in a virtual machine instead.

    I'm surprised Windows 7 even lets users install onto FAT32.
     
  14. Justelis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #14
    Playing games, working with Pinacle. And virtual machines coast alot of your computer resourses that's why I install Windows
     
  15. ModestMoo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    ModestMoo

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
  16. murphychris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #16
    It actually doesn't, but it depends on what you're doing. Games and video editing even somewhat consider the operating itself a hinderance. Let alone two of them and a layer in between.
     

Share This Page