System problem?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macintoshxiii, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. macintoshxiii macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    how can I improve Safari's performance? It seems that safari is not working properly. The loading takes awhile most of the time while I checked my broadband's working perfectly ok... Does the memories used affect the web browser? And does the activity monitor works like the one in PC? Can i shut down certain application that I'm not in use?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    To quicken Safari up a little, I usually reset it from the Safari menu, then quit it, head to a folder in my Library called Safari and navigate to a folder named Icons, open it and delete everything inside. These are cached versions of the images you see in the URL bar and Safari can slow down quite a bit when their numbers get high. :)
     
  3. macintoshxiii thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #3
    thanx... but what about the activity monitor? Can i get rid of some application not in used? As in memory wise does it helps?
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    I restart Safari every once in a while because it does over time bloat and take up a lot of memory. Quitting programs in the Activity Monitor is helpful only if you are running out of physical memory. Typically if your page outs are getting into the 10,000's then you are running out of memory a lot.
     
  5. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    you can shut down certain applications that are not in use.

    some people have reported faster load times when they do the following:

    1. Open System Preferences and go to the Network pane.
    2. Click "Airport" or "Built-in Ethernet" depending on which one you use.
    3. Click "Configure..."
    4. Under TCP/IP there is a field called "DNS Servers", paste the following in there, as is:

    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2
    4.2.2.3
    4.2.2.4
    4.2.2.5
    4.2.2.6

    No guarantees but it has sped up my browsing (minimally, but noticeable).
     
  6. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #6
    Sure you can, go through the Activity monitor and see what you don't use and shut them down...make sure its not needed first;)

    How much RAM do you have and give safari a reset to clear up the dirt in there.


    Bless
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    OSX has excellent memory management so a process not in use barely takes up any RAM or Virtual Memory (even if Activity Monitor implies something different). Unless you're very light on for RAM, I wouldn't be shutting down any system processes for now. FWIW, I see 512MB as the minimum amount of RAM to run Tiger comfortably on a PPC machine and 1GB on an Intel machine. Amounts less than this can cause the system to be a bit slow. :eek:
     
  8. macintoshxiii thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #8
    erm... ok cool! I see so much responses and help... thank you people! really so much... by the way i've got 1.5 Gb of ram for my PPC... hmmm I guess it is more than enought yea? Still not quite sure on how to monitor the activity monitor somehow... anyway I'm glad for the safari's help! Awsome guys...
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Depending on how you use your machine, 1.5GB should be plenty. :)
     

Share This Page