System Profiler renamed to System Information; About This Mac sporting new look!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Goldfrapp, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
  2. Blakeasd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
  3. iBookG4user
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    It doesn't look like it gives nearly as much information :(
     
  4. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #4
    Under Overview, click on System Report. ;)
     
  5. Hellhammer
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Click System Report... to get the old window.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. cambookpro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Much nicer!
    Always thought that System Profiler never was up to Apple's standards of UI. Glad to see an overhaul, even if it is only for the most basic info.
     
  7. KiDo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #7
    Odd, when i open about this mac and then more info it show your app.

    When i go to applications -> utilities -> system information, it just shows the old view!
     
  8. celticpride678
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    That's supposed to be like that. System Information is just System Profiler renamed. About this Mac is the one that got remodeled.
     
  9. KiDo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #9
    I figured, it's just that the topic starter formulated his title a bit differently
     
  10. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #10
    Thread title edited. :D
     
  11. baryon
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #11
    I love how it says what kind of memory you can put where, how many slots your machine has and draws a nice graphic with a little sentence. Makes it easier to buy new RAM.
     
  12. bedifferent
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    bedifferent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    Random question: how did you get your images to show up so nicely, with shadows, etc?
     
  13. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #13
    There's a whole bunch of screen-capturing apps that do it for you automatically. I use Realmac Software's LittleSnapper. Pretty neat.
     
  14. bedifferent
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    bedifferent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    Great! I usually just used Command+Shift+4 to select the image. Thanks for the help! :)
     
  15. GoCubsGo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  16. OllyW
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #16
    If you click on 'Memory Upgrade Instructions' does it tell you how to solder new memory to your MacBook Air? ;)
     
  17. sebtk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Other people have mentioned apps, you really don't need any.
    Press Apple(Command) + Shift + 4

    then press the spacebar over the window you want to capture, the image will appear on your desktop with the nice backdrop etc.
     
  18. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #18
  19. Steve Ballmer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #19
    Cmd+Shift+3 = whole desktop screenshot
    Cmd+Shift+4+Space = screenshot of any specific window, menu bar, Dock or wallpaper you want
    Cmd+Shift+4 = rectangular screenshot of anything
     
  20. Mr. Retrofire
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #20
    On SL you can use TinkerTool to set the screenshot image file format to PNG and you can also tell the system, that it should include shadows in screenshots. I think it works also on Lion.
     
  21. neko girl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    neko girl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #21
    Does the hard drives breakout show external hard drives too?

    This is identical to the iPhone/iPad breakout in iTunes. Pleasantly surprised by these changes!
     
  22. Goldfrapp
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #22
    Yep.
     

Share This Page