System Profiler says PC-133 RAM is PC-100 WTF ?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by shake, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. shake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    #1
    the System Profiler in Panther says my Crucial PC-133 RAM is PC-100. i have a DP 533 g4 (digital audio), and it reads the system bus properly at 133mhz. i tried the RAM in a 1ghz eMac, and it says pc-133! anyone else experienced this? is this a bug in system profiler?
     
  2. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Is any of your other RAM PC100? If it is, all RAM will slow to that speed.
     
  3. shake thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    #3
    all my ram is pc133. it says so right on the ram itself. its crucial 512mb and 2x256mb. *ALL PC133*

    when i put the ram in a different computer, (like a 1ghz emac like my first post said), system profiler reads all 3 units as pc133.

    strange, no?
     
  4. shake thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    #4
    here is there answer... cut and pasted from this link:
    http://www.omnigroup.com/mailman/archive/macosx-admin/2003-December/034822.html


     
  5. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Cool, thanks for the heads up. Glad you got it sorted out.
     

Share This Page