system requirements for OS X 10.4

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ninja_Turtle, Jul 16, 2004.

  1. Ninja_Turtle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #1
    hey, anyone out there with the system requirements for the beta version? i have it but i dont want to install it cuz im on a 600mhz G3 iBook with 384megs RAM...anyone got any suggestions?
     
  2. veedubdrew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    You need a Mac with a G3, G4, or G5 processor, 128MB RAM, a DVD drive, and built-in FireWire. Sounds like your iBook will work just fine. Could you let us know how the performance is on your machine? On my PB17 it's about the same as Panther.

    BTW, I wouldn't recommend installing Tiger as your primary OS. It's extremely buggy and I wouldn't trust it with any data I cared about. I have it on an external FW HDD just to tinker with.

    -Drew
     
  3. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Dude

    If you don't know the answer to that question, you shouldn't be installing your pirated developers' version of Tiger.
     
  4. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #4
    someone said that Tiger could wipe or corrupt all the data off your HD? it wouldn't do that, right? especially if you installed onto an external FireWire HD, your main HDs data would be safe, right?
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    I don't know, apparently one bug of the FINAL release of Panther didn't communicate properly with a certain kind of FireWire bridge and erased external HDs. I wouldn't limit the damage to the installed drive.
     
  6. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #6
    Tiger runs just as fast as a fresh install of Panther, on an iMac 256 RAM, 1 GHz, on an external FireWire 400 10 GB with 512K cache.
     
  7. Ninja_Turtle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #7
    party

    its not pirated, well anyways....theres a bug that deletes all your files? whoa!!! sounds like i dont wanna install it no more, oh yeah, can i boot os 9 if i were to install TIGER, and also can i "downgrade" to os x 10.3 ?if i dont like it?
     
  8. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Sorry

    Okay, so it's not pirated. I still think it's stupid to install a developer's copy of an OS. You obviously don't know a ton about it...by the way, where did you get it?
     
  9. Ninja_Turtle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #9
    party

    one of my friends is a developer and i asked him for it just to give it a try...he paid for it, and went to the conference...its not like hes selling it to me or im selling it to someone else, or putting it up on the internet
     
  10. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    Quick Question

    Hey guys, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I know you guys are all very knowledgeable concerning everything Mac. :) I'm a bit of a developer, just some java and web applets here and there, and I'm wondering how I could obtain a beta version of Tiger. I'm new to downloading any beta versions of Apple software, and am unsure how to do so. Do I have to pay for it? How big of a download is it? Any help is appreciated, but not necessary, as it's not a huge deal. ;)
     
  11. Ninja_Turtle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #11
    party

    dude i suggest you delete this immideatly...you might get banned...dont pirate things...
     
  12. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #12
    Littleodie914, i think you've got to become a ADC member. but that's no problem if you're already a developer, right?

    and you can't DL it, i'm pretty sure Apple isn't offering it for DL. and you're not asking for an 'illegal' DL site are you? :eek:

    also, i think the Tiger Beta that's out now is a WWDC preview. so that means it was only available to WWDC attendees, right? i think you might have missed the boat... looks like you'll have to join ADC and wait for the first developer seed.
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    He's not trying to pirate it, he's just asking where to get it. I thought it was quite obvious that he wasn't attempting to pirate it when he asked if you have to pay anything.

    Anyway, yes, you do have to pay. You need to join ADC, which I think costs $500 per year. I have no idea whether you can download the current build of Tiger yet, but future versions are bound to be added to the site.

    In case you're a student, you may be tempted to go for the $100 student membership. Unfortunately, it doesn't entitle you to pre-release software. You should get the final version though (I got the final version of Panther, but unfortunately my subscription will run out before the release of Tiger).
     
  14. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #14
    Thanks, that answered my question completely. I'm only 16, and was looking to see how differently my wee java apps would work under Tiger. Guess I'll be waiting until "early 2005" to test them, as I definitely don't have $500 a year! :D And ninja_turtle, I was certainly NOT trying to pirate Tiger. I'm well aware of what software pirating does to companies, and I also know that it's a very bad (for lack of a more fitting word) thing to do. But thanks again Nermal. :)
     
  15. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #15
    Duff-Man says...does anybody else see something wrong (besides the spelling) between these two posts?....oh yeah!
     
  16. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    I spot Ninja_Turtle has learned quickly between the two posts. :p
     
  17. jimjiminyjim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    Could someone point me in the right direction for the developers version of a Dual 2.5Ghz G5? I'd just like to give it a try.

    Thanks.
     
  18. sockeatingdryer macrumors regular

    sockeatingdryer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, GA, USA
    #18
    My, you're rather all up in his arse, aren't you? Does it really matter to you that much?

    I tell you what, why don't you manage you... are we in elementary school again? "Waaa Mommy, mommy! I'm telling on you!" :rolleyes:
     
  19. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    do you have the 16MB vram one or the 8MB vram one? i have the 16 and tiger is very very slightly slower than panther but it works great havent had a crash and i've used it for 3 week
     
  20. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    thats like a warning saying apple is not responsible if that happens, like a diclaimer, it wont do anything like that (disclaimer: dont blame me if it dose install os 10.4 at your own risk) it's just apple telling people not to sue them if 10.4 screws up there mac
     
  21. eupraxist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    #21
    Sys req details

    So, tell me if I got this right: Tiger will be supported on my Mac only if it had FireWire built in from the start? (i.e. PCI FireWire added in is not enough)? So the original iMac is out of luck? Or is FireWire only required for certain cool functions, like for iMovie? iMovie runs okay on my original iMac, so long as I can get the files on my computer via CDRom or something instead of FireWire.

    For that matter, could I install Tiger onto an original iMac via networked DVD drive?

    Thanks!
     
  22. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #22
    CLARIFICATION

    It's probably not that you need the actual functuality of firewire for tiger, but rather the capabilities of the computer that was released with firewire. earlier computers may not have enough processor speed, vram, etc...
     
  23. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23
    Thanks, mommy. Do you do babysitting too?
     
  24. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #24
    I hope you mess up and it erases your hd.
     
  25. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #25
    They list "Firewire" as a requirement because common laymen would understand that their Mac has firewire. They could probably say "Processor Class XXXX" but that'd just be difficult. Apple just decided that Tiger ran too slowly for Macs released before firewire. Like when Jag (or was it Panther?) was advertised for any G3 Mac, a lot of people were mad when it wouldn't work fast enough on their old, old machines - so Apple offered a refund. Sure you can install Tiger on non-Firewire Macs just like you can install Panther on non-USB ones.
     

Share This Page